Review * Trouble From the Start by Rachel Hawthorne

April 23, 2015 Reviews 2 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Trouble From the Start by Rachel HawthorneTrouble from the Start by Rachel Hawthorne
Published by HarperTeen on April 28, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Lauren Barnholdt, and Susane Colasanti, Trouble from the Start is a sweet and romantic read about a good girl who falls for a bad boy.

Avery knows better than to fall for Fletcher, the local bad boy who can't seem to outrun his reputation. Fletcher knows he shouldn't bother with college-bound, daughter-of-a-cop Avery. But when their paths cross, neither can deny the spark. Are they willing to go against everything and let their hearts lead the way? Or are they just flirting with disaster?

A companion novel to Rachel Hawthorne's paperback original The Boyfriend Project, this title is perfect for fans of summer beach reads and sweet treats.

What I Thought…

• I really enjoyed Trouble From the Start. Avery is your typical good girl and Fletcher your more than meets the eye bad boy.

• Avery is ambitious and strives to do well in school and do the right thing. Even though this makes her sound like a goody two shoes, she’s not. She is overly afraid of disappointing her parents and not always very good at standing up for herself.

• Fletcher is seen as a bad boy by the school but isn’t as bad as he seems. He has a lot of home issues, which is how he comes to live in the apartment over the garage of Avery’s house. Despite all his issues he is very easy to like. I really like that he’s had some issues in school, he is already a year behind and still might not graduate this year. Hawthorne handles these issues fairly well and shows that there are people who are willing to help you graduate, even after you dug yourself a pretty big hole.

• I absolutely LOVED Avery’s parents. They around, they were involved (but not too involved) and they weren’t crazy. They were just your typical run of the mill parents, which is why I loved them so much.

• Avery and Fletcher were cute together, even when they were fighting it. I wish Fletcher had given up his “I’m not good enough for you” thoughts a bit sooner, but no big deal.

• The only thing that was off for me is at the very end Avery and Fletcher are of course together and all of a sudden there are I Love You’s everywhere. I teach at a high school and I know that they do tend to overuse/misuse I Love You, but it just didn’t fit for Avery or Fletcher.

• I’m very curious about Kendall and Jeremy. We don’t really get to know them too much in Trouble From the Start (other than the fact that they are all over each other) and I am waiting to see what happens with them in The Boyfriend Project.

Overall I really enjoyed Trouble From the Start. It’s a cute summery romance that won’t let you down.

Kimberly

2 Responses to “Review * Trouble From the Start by Rachel Hawthorne”