Genre: Contemporary Romance


Jan 23

Review * Accidentally on Purpose by Jill Shalvis

Reviews 0 ★★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Accidentally on Purpose by Jill ShalvisAccidentally on Purpose by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #3
Published by Avon on January 24, 2017
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
There’s no such thing as a little in love…

Elle Wheaten’s priorities: friends, career, and kick-ass shoes. Then there’s the muscular wall of stubbornness that’s security expert Archer Hunt—who comes before everything else. No point in telling Mr. “Feels-Free Zone” that, though. Elle will just see other men until she gets over Archer . . . which should only take a lifetime . . .

There’s no such thing as a little in lust…

Archer’s wanted the best for Elle ever since he sacrificed his law-enforcement career to save her. But now that she’s earned happiness and success, Archer just wants Elle 24/7. Their chemistry could start the next San Francisco Earthquake, and Archer doesn’t want to be responsible for the damage. The alternative? Watch her go out with guys who aren’t him . . .

There is such a thing as…

As far as Archer’s concerned, nobody is good enough for Elle. But when he sets out to prove it by sabotaging her dates, she gets mad—and things get hot as hell. Now Archer has a new mission: prove to Elle that her perfect man has been here all along…

What I Thought…

• The tension between Elle and Archer ran high throughout the entire story. I loved how their backstory unfolded, it was just woven into the story, a little bit here, a little bit there until finally you knew what happened. To me that felt like such a natural way for the reader to find out the details, as they were remembering it, rather than just being told all the things.

• Sometimes Archer drove me crazy, but in the end he won me over. I get his need to want to protect Elle, but c’mon! That is generally not liked by anyone so he should not have been surprised to see that blow up in his face (more than once lol).

• Elle also had a fierce need to be independent. She’s worked hard to be that way, but sometimes you have to learn to accept help and Elle had a hard time with that.

• While Elle and Archer have a past, it’s a bit different from those typically featured in contemporary romances. It was nice to see what happened, how it shaped them, and how they came back together in the present.

• As always I enjoyed getting to know more of the characters, including Spence who I found adorable and hilarious and I can’t wait for him to get his own book. I really want him to get his own HEA. He needs it. I also enjoyed the reappearance of characters I’ve already met, and seeing what they’re up to.

• I wish that there was a bit more of Elle’s sister, but I also feel like she should get her own book (maybe with Spence???) so I’m ok with there not being more there if there is more of her in the future.

Overall another great addition to the Heartbreak Bay Series and one I would highly recommend!

Kimberly


Jul 30

Review * To Have and to Hold by Lauren Layne

Reviews 0 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * To Have and to Hold by Lauren LayneTo Have and to Hold by Lauren Layne
Series: The Wedding Belles #1
Published by Pocket Books on July 26, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Discovering her fiance is an international con man just moments before they exchange vows devastates celebrity wedding planner Brooke Baldwin's business—and breaks her heart. Now a pariah in Los Angeles, she seeks a fresh start in New York City and thinks she’s found it with her first bridal client, a sweet—if slightly spoiled—hotel heiress. Then she meets the uptight businessman who’s holding the purse strings.

Seth Tyler wishes he could write a blank check and be done with his sister Maya's fancy-pants wedding. Unfortunately, micromanaging the event is his only chance at proving Maya’s fiance is a liar. Standing directly in his way is the stunning blonde wedding planner whose practiced smiles and sassy comebacks both irritate and arouse him. He needs Brooke’s help. But can he persuade a wedding planner on a comeback mission to unplan a wedding? And more importantly, how will he convince her that the wedding she should be planning... is theirs?

What I Thought…

Seth and Brooke’s story blew me away! I read it in one day, and would have read it in one sitting if it wasn’t for the fact that I had an appointment. I loved their instant attraction, and unwillingness to follow through on it…. at first. Their banter back and forth and unease with the situation could be felt through the pages. Their relationship wasn’t just built on lust and they had some fairly big arguments (and good ones too).

I also loved the how the whole situation with Seth’s sister Maya getting married. It’s tough to see someone you love have a whirlwind romance and marriage and while Seth did not handle things well, he handled it realistically. I enjoyed the roll that Seth’s best friend Grant played and his no b.s. way of dealing with Seth’s boneheaded moves.

Overall I loved the other two wedding planners, Heather and Alexis (especially Alexis – she’s just got to be with the Brit!) and I can’t wait to read their stories.

Kimberly


Jul 21

Review * Cream of the Crop by Alice Clayton

Reviews 2 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Cream of the Crop by Alice ClaytonCream of the Crop by Alice Clayton
Series: Hudson Valley #2
Published by Simon & Schuster on July 12, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Manhattan’s It Girl, Natalie Grayson, has it all: she’s a hot exec at a leading advertising firm, known industry-wide for her challenging and edgy campaigns. She’s got a large circle of friends, a family that loves her dearly, and her dance card is always full with handsome eligible bachelors. What else could a modern gal-about-town wish for? The answer, of course, is...cheese.

Natalie’s favorite part of each week is spending Saturday morning at the Union Square Farmer’s Market, where she indulges her love of all things triple cream. Her favorite booth also indulges her love of all things handsome. Oscar Mendoza, owner of the Bailey Falls Creamery and purveyor of the finest artisanal cheeses the Hudson Valley has to offer, is tall, dark, mysterious, and a bit oblivious. Or so she thinks. But that doesn’t stop Natalie from fantasizing about the size of his, ahem, milk can.

Romance is churning, passion is burning, and something incredible is rising to the top. Could it be...love?

What I Thought…

• I really enjoyed Natalie. It’s not often that you find a truly plus sized girl in a contemporary romance but she’s here and she’s likeable. My only issue with Natalie is that given her back story I didn’t see the connection between how she got from there to having confidence in herself and her body and I wish those connections would have been made.

• Oscar was equally as awesome. He is a farmer and a cheesemaker and while I NEVER want to see cheese being made, I do love me some cheese. He was a little awkward at times, but that just made him more adorable.

• Cream of the Crop is not Clayton’s most hilarious book (that honor still goes to Wallbanger), it is still funny and there are quite a few ridiculous moments to get your laughs in. Don’t worry, there are plenty of steaming moments too.

• I love a good small town and Baily Falls does not disappoint. I also loved that it provided the tension between Oscar in Bailey Falls and Natalie who resides in NYC. They are such contrasting places and I enjoyed their fish out of water experiences.

• Natalie and Oscar are cute together but other than their great physical relationship and love of cheese there didn’t seem to be much for them to go on, but by the end you see there love and you know all will be well.

Overall Cream of the Crop is another fun read from Alice Clayton!

Kimberly


Apr 11

Review * Listen to Me by Kristen Proby

Reviews 1 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Listen to Me by Kristen ProbyListen to Me by Kristen Proby
Series: Fusion #1
Published by William Morrow on April 12, 2015
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Seduction is quickly becoming the hottest new restaurant in Portland, and Addison Wade is proud to claim 1/5 of the credit. She’s determined to make it a success and can’t think of a better way to bring in new customers than live music. But when former rock star Jake Keller swaggers through the doors to apply for the weekend gig, she knows she’s in trouble. Addie instantly recognizes him—his posters were plastered all over her bedroom walls in high school—he’s all bad boy...exactly her type and exactly what she doesn’t need.

Jake Keller walked away from the limelight five years ago and yearns to return to what’s always driven him: the music. If he gets to work for a smart-mouthed, funny-as-hell bombshell, all the better. But talking Addie into giving him the job is far easier than persuading her that he wants more than a romp in her bed. Just when she begins to drop her walls, Jake’s past finally catches up with him.

Will Addie be torn apart once again or will Jake be able to convince her to drown out her doubts and listen to her heart?

What I Thought…

• Listen to Me was so hard to put down! I absolutely adored Addie and Jake, both together and on their own.

• There was just the right amount of drama in Listen to Me. Enough to keep things interesting (no one wants to read the mundane) but not so much that it’s completely unrealistic.

• Jake is a former rock star and I love how this angle played out. It was there and came up, but Jake was a little awkward about it which made it cute and he wasn’t all spoiled which I appreciated.

• Addie has a bad habit of picking men that are no good for her. She likes the bad boys, which hasn’t been working out for her. A lot of time when this happens they go after the opposite kind of man, but I like that she went after Jake anyway (even though she was telling herself it was a bad idea).

• Addie and four of her friends own Seduction, a restaurant. I love how this was woven into the story and I can’t wait to get the stories of her friends. There is definitely quite a few things going on there, and should lead to more good stories.

• Jake and Addie together were completely adorable. They had lots of fun joking between them, but they also had moments with lots of feels. It was so sweet that Jake knew what Addie needed and pushed her a bit, but also knew when to hold back.

• I really liked Jake’s best friend Christina. She is exactly the kind of friend he needs, someone who isn’t going to hold back on his account. Jake has some issues (he feels that something is his fault, and it weighs on him) to work out where she is concerned, but he would do anything for her.

• Listen to Me also has plenty of swoons and feels!

Overall Listen to Me is a great start to a new series and I can’t wait to read the next one!

Kimberly


Mar 23

Review * Cuff Me by Lauren Layne

Blog Tour, Reviews 2 ★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Cuff Me by Lauren LayneCuff Me by Lauren Layne
Series: New York's Finest #3
Published by Forever on March 29, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add to: Goodreads
three-stars

Vincent knows he's not the most charming of the Moretti brothers. He prefers brooding to flirting, reading to talking, and he sure as hell isn't about to give into his mother's insistence that he 'settle down with a nice girl.' Luckily, Vincent's gig as one of the NYPD's top homicide detectives keeps him busy. As does his long-time partner, Jill Henley–a tough-as-nails cop with the face of an angel and smart mouth that makes Vincent crazy in all the worst ways.

After six years of working the homicide beat with the tight-lipped Vincent Moretti, Jill figure she knows him
better than anyone. Which is not at all. But when their most recent case points to a potential serial-killer situation, the higher-ups send them on a rare undercover mission to a place no NYPD officer dares go: the Upper Eastside.


Now the bureau's most antagonistic set of partners is posing as Mr. and Mrs. Brooks of Park Avenue. Spending 24/7 in the suspect's territory brings them closer and closer to their killer . . . and closer to each other. Soon Vincent and Jill are playing good cop/bad cop in and out of bed, and Jill's falling hard. But can she convince Vincent to give her a shot as partner in life, as well as at the bureau?

  •  I’m a huge fan of friends to lovers romances and I’m so happy that Cuff Me did not disappoint. Jill and Vin have been friends and partners for a while now, but after Jill comes home from spending 3 months with her mother in FL things take a dramatic change and Vin isn’t having it. I loved the struggle between the two of them to decide if they wanted more or not.
  • I was a little worried as Jill comes home engaged and I can’t stand cheating in books, but thankfully there is none of that. There is definitely attraction, but they don’t cross the line.
  • The case that Jill and Vin were on was the right amount of mystery/crime added to their story of coming together.
  • As always, I appreciate that the other Moretti’s made appearances, especially when it came to knocking some sense into Vin. I love the familial interactions.
  • I couldn’t have been more happy with Cuff Me and I’m hoping that there will be more Moretti books in the future – she can’t stop here!
BUY NOW
Lauren Layne is the USA Today Bestselling author of more than a dozen contemporary romance novels.
Prior to becoming an author, Lauren worked in e-commerce and web-marketing. A year after moving from Seattle to NYC to pursue a writing career, she had a fabulous agent and multiple New York publishing deals. 
Lauren currently lives in Manhattan with her husband and plus-sized Pomeranian. When not writing, you’ll likely find her running (rarely), reading (sometimes), or at happy hour (often).

Excerpt

Only a week after, he’d stuck out his hand and introduced himself as Tom, Tom Porter, in a sort of James Bondian way that made her giggle. They had been eating dinner at that very same hotel restaurant.

Only a week after that, dinner with Tom had become the norm rather than the exception.

The week after that?

They occasionally threw lunch into the mix, either her coming to meet him at some fancy place while her mom was in physical therapy, or him bringing fabulous picnicstyle lunches to her mother’s house, where he’d proceed to charm Jill’s mom almost as thoroughly as he charmed Jill.

Five weeks into Jill’s stay in Florida, Jill had stuck around for breakfast.

In his hotel room.

And then there’d been last night.

“Okay, okay, so he’s a dreamboat,” Elena said as the car crept slowly through rush hour traffic toward Manhattan. “How’d he pop the question? Champagne? Roses? Fancy restaurant with a water view?”

“Holy crap,” Jill said with a laugh. “Were you there?”

“I know all,” Elena said, extending her hands to the side as though she were some wise sage. “Did you see it coming at all?”

“Not even a little bit,” Jill admitted.

Not even with the expensive champagne, or the two dozen roses, or the fact that the restaurant staff seemed to be going out of their way to give Jill and Tom privacy at the terrace table overlooking the ocean.

She’d simply thought it had just been a really fantastic good-bye.

Instead it had been a bit more of a be mine forever and ever.

And Jill had said yes.

She’d said yes almost the second he’d gone down on his knee, not because she’d been that sure—she’d been pretty sure . .. sort of sure—she’d said yes because in that moment, Jill had wanted what Tom Porter was offering her.

A companion. A partner. Love.

And that’s what it came down to. Jill wanted to be loved. She wanted to love.

She loved her mother, obviously. And loved the memory of her father, God rest his soul.

And though she had no siblings of her own, the Morettis had filled that gap. And with the recent addition of Luc’s girlfriend, Ava, and Anthony’s new wife, Maggie, she had some amazing girlfriends to add to the mix.

And last, but never least, there was Vincent. Her partner. In some ways her best friend, although in a way that was different from her relationship with Elena.

But as much as Vincent sometimes seemed like two parts of the same whole, he’d always held a bit of himself back from her. From everyone.

He’d made no secret of the fact that he had no intentions of getting married, ever. Any fantasies Jill had had that her partner would one day wake up and see her were long gone.

Which left her a bit.. . lonely.

She wanted someone to come home to at the end of the long day who would just be there. Who’d pour her a glass of wine, maybe rub her feet and just listen.

Tom offered Jill what nobody else had offered her… ever.

Love. Commitment. A future.

And she knew that he loved her. Fast as their relationship had developed, she could feel it. And she loved him too. At least she was pretty sure.

“Aww, you like him,” Elena said teasingly, reaching out a finger and poking the dimple in Jill’s left cheek.

“I want to be happy, El. I want the happily-ever-after with someone who wants it with me.”

She met her friend’s eyes and saw from the flash of regret on Elena’s face that El understood what Jill wasn’t saying out loud.

I can’t wait for Vin forever.

Kimberly


Feb 08

Review * Call Me, Maybe Ellie Cahill

Reviews 3 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Call Me, Maybe Ellie CahillCall Me, Maybe by Ellie Cahill
Published by Loveswept on February 9, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 217
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Clementine Daly knows she’s the black sheep. Her wealthy, powerful family has watched her very closely since she almost got caught in an embarrassing scandal a few years ago. So when Clementine’s sent on a mission to live up to the Daly name, politely declining isn’t an option. Of course, the last thing she does before boarding the plane is to grab a stranger’s phone by mistake—leaving the hunky journalist with her phone. Soon his sexy voice is on the line, but he doesn’t know her real name, or her famous pedigree—which is just the way Clementine likes it.

Despite all the hassles, Justin Mueller is intrigued to realize that the beautiful brown-eyed girl he met at the airport is suddenly at his fingertips. They agree to exchange phones when they’re both back in town, but after a week of flirty texts and wonderfully intimate conversations, Justin doesn’t want to let her go. The only problem? It turns out that Clemetine has been lying to him about, well, everything. Except for the one thing two people can’t fake, the only thing that matters: The heat between them is for real.

What I Thought…

• I curled up with Call Me, Maybe on a blustery snow day and it kept me on my couch reading until I was finished. Call Me, Maybe is a fast read and it was pretty cute.

• Clementine and Justin go through a phone mix up at the airport and end up with each others phones until they return home. I thought this was a real cute way for them to meet, and led to some awkward moments.

• Clementine’s family is super wealthy and this causes her to not tell the truth about who she is, while part of me understands why, the other part of me doesn’t understand because unless you’re into the rich and famous/sociolite stuff, who pays attention to who has money where you live? But that could just be me. I completely understand not wanting to say that you have gobs of money though, it’s hard to tell who likes you for you rather than your money.

• Clementine’s family is overbearing towards Clementine and it drove me crazy. Yes, she made a mistake, but it’s over and done with so, move on!

• There aren’t too many secondary characters in this one, but I did like Clementine’s neighbor/friend and Justin’s roommate.

• While reading Call Me, Maybe was more of a three star read, but the ending was so excellent I had to bump it up.

Overall if you are into cute contemporary romances definitely give this one a shot!

Kimberly


Feb 01

Review * I Wish You Were Mine by Lauren Layne

Reviews 2 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * I Wish You Were Mine by Lauren LayneWish You Were Mine by Lauren Layne
Series: Oxford #2
Published by Loveswept on February 2, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 260
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
A year ago, Jackson Burke was married to the love of his life and playing quarterback for the Texas Redhawks. Now he’s retired, courtesy of the car accident that ruined his career—and single, after a nasty scandal torpedoed his marriage. Just as he’s starting to get used to his new life as a health and fitness columnist for Oxford magazine, his unpredictable ex shows up on his doorstep in Manhattan. Jackson should be thrilled. But he can’t stop thinking about the one person who’s always been there for him, the one girl he could never have: her younger sister.

Mollie Carrington can’t say no to Madison. After all, her older sister practically raised her. So when Madison begs for help in winning her ex-husband back, Mollie’s just glad she got over her own crush on Jackson ages ago—or so she thought. Because as Mollie reconnects with Jackson, she quickly forgets all her reasons to stay loyal to her sister. Tempted by Jackson’s mellow drawl and cowboy good looks, Mollie is sick and tired of coming in second place. But she can’t win if she doesn’t play the game.

What I Thought…

• This is the first book in either Layne’s Stiletto or Oxford series that gave me some SERIOUS feels. I also stayed up until way past my bedtime to finish it. My “one more chapter” turned into “finished the whole thing.”

• Wish You Were Mine is a bit of a different romance, Jackson is Mollie’s sisters ex husband. I’m trying to think if I’ve read a book like this before but I honestly can’t remember, which made it refreshing for me.

• Obviously given the past things are not smooth for Jackson and Mollie. Being in love with your siblings ex-husband does not make for good family moments. Also Mollie’s sister is a bitch.

• Jackson is struggling because in a moment his entire life changed and he can no longer play football and has to do something else. I really liked how Layne showed his emotions and being torn between the “new me” Jackson was forced into and the guy he’s always been.

• The gang from the previous books were quite present in Wish You Were Mine, which I always enjoy. It’s nice to get the little updates on where things are when you know you don’t need a whole new book. I also loved how they wormed their way into Jackson’s life, refusing to let him be the stick in the mud he was being.

• Mollie and her sister and it was difficult at times to watch Mollie struggle through that, but I totally get it. She’s family and we always see our family different from others.

Overall this was the best in the series for me and I definitely recommend it to contemporary romance fans!

Kimberly


Jan 25

Review * Keep On Loving You by Christie Ridgway

Reviews 2 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Keep On Loving You by Christie RidgwayKeep On Loving You by Christie Ridgway
Series: Cabin Fever #4
Published by HQN on January 26, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Also in this series: Take My Breath Away, Make Me Lose Control, Can't Fight This Feeling
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Mackenzie Walker's siblings have all found their happy-ever-afters, but she has everything a single girl needs in her California mountain hometown. Family, friends, a thriving business…and memories of Zan Elliott, her first love, whose touch—and betrayal—she's never forgotten. Now, ten years after he left town, Zan returns to manage his late grandfather's estate…and flip Mac's life upside down with one heated glance.

Documentary filmmaking has taken Zan all over the globe, yet nowhere was far enough away to make him forget Mac. Seeing her ignites their incredible chemistry all over again. Mac's trust won't be easily won, however, especially when Zan's inheritance jeopardizes her family's hard-earned dreams. But every moment together is challenging Zan to stop living life through a lens and dare to let his guard down for a chance at forever…

What I Thought…

• I love a good second chance love story. I enjoy watching the characters muddle through their history to figure out their future. Mackenzie and Zan have spent the last 10 years apart, and not even talking, which makes for an interesting backstory.

• Zan has a lot going on in his head that causes him to make the decisions that he does. I get where he is coming from, but I appreciate that the Walker family just isn’t having it. His persistence regarding Mackenzie is also adorable.

• Mackenzie is a strong woman – at least to the outer world. She has some issues obviously but she looks out for her family and owns her own business. She also doesn’t want to rely on Zan, though she comes to learn that relying on someone sometimes isn’t a bad thing.

• Keep On Loving You had a cute secondary romance. Normally these don’t work for me as I feel they take away from the main romance but Tilda and Ash were just so cute together that I couldn’t help but want to know more.

• Keep On Loving You had humor and plenty of feels in it. It’s hard not to feel for the hardships of Zan and Mackenzie’s past!

Overall I especially enjoyed Keep On Loving You and would recommend it to any romance fan!

Kimberly


Aug 20

Review * Running Wild by Susan Andersen

Reviews 0 ★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Running Wild by Susan AndersenRunning Wild by Susan Andersen
Series: Sisterhood Diares #4
Published by HQN on August 25th 2015
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add to: Goodreads
three-stars
They can't escape the heat… Magdalene Deluca isn't the damsel-in-distress type. But if she has to involve a stranger in a dangerous chase through South America, she's glad Finn Kavanagh's the guy she sucked into her problems. Very glad. The man oozes sex and magnetic confidence. And since their connection is steamier than the sultry rain forest, why waste time resisting him? Finn's peaceful vacation is blown to bits the second Mags strides into view. For years he's ignored his family's pleas to settle down. Now he's falling hard for a blonde force of nature who's allergic to commitment. First he has to keep Mags safe as they search for her missing parents. Then they can determine if it's time to stop running—and take a chance on the wildest thrill he's ever known…

What I Thought…

• I requested Running Wild on NetGalley because I’ve read Susan Andersen before and I’ve always enjoyed her books. I didn’t really pay attention to the synopsis, which is why it was a surprise when Running Wild turned out to be more romantic suspense than contemporary romance. I like romantic suspense just fine, it was just a surprise for me.

• Mags headed down to South America to find her parents, whom she hasn’t physically seen in 12 years. This seemed like a bit of a stretch for her to rescue them, but that’s just my opinion. I really liked her, she was strong and determined and handled things a lot better than I would have.

• Finn got sucked in to Mag’s trip on a whim when things started to go south. He was your typical alpha man I’m here to save you. He blends in with all the typical romantic suspense heroes you read about.

• I enjoyed Mags and Finn’s journey to find her parents it was filled with misadventures and bad guy altercations. I loved how Mags’ job as a make up artist helped them.

•I thought Mags’ parents were a bit selfish, but what can you do?

Overall Running Wild was a fun read, recommended to anyone who is looking for a summer romance.

Kimberly


Aug 10

Review * The Closer You Come by Gena Showalter

Reviews 1 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * The Closer You Come by Gena ShowalterThe Closer You Come by Gena Showalter
Series: The Original Heartbreakers #1
Published by HQN on March 31, 2015
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 434
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Just released from prison, Jase Hollister has a dark and twisted past. And now, he has only one goal: stay out of trouble. Strawberry Valley, Oklahoma, sounds like the perfect place for him and his two brothers-by-circumstance to settle down and live a nice, simple life. But model citizen isn’t exactly this rugged bachelor’s default setting—especially when it comes to a certain hot-blooded Southern beauty…

Brook Lynn Dillon has always been responsible. Not that it’s done her much good. The down-on-her-luck waitress is broke, single and fun-deprived. Until Jase comes along. He is dangerous, stunningly protective, breathtakingly sexy and as tempting as sin, and the passion sizzling between them is undeniable. But can it melt her resistance? After all, the right kind of trouble might be just what they both need.

What I Thought…

• I found myself immediately sucked in to Strawberry Valley. It’s a cute small town in Oklahoma with a cast of characters I can’t help but love.

• Jase has spent that last several years in prison for a crime that he did commit, but when you find out all the details you can’t help but be on his side. He has some issues that stem from this but he is trying to work on them, even though at times he feels like he doesn’t deserve it.

• Brook Lynn is someone I want to be friends with. She was fresh and funny and down to earth. She also has a disability that is not common in books, which I found refreshing. I also liked how she handled it and how Jase handled it – like it was not even a thing.

• There is some awkwardness between Jase and Brook Lynn given another situation in the beginning, but I thought it was handled smoothly and they make an adorable couple.

• While Jase and Brook Lynn are the main characters there is a large cast. I loved Jase’s friends West and Beck and their stories (especially West’s) should prove quite interesting. Brook Lynn’s sister isn’t someone I easily identified with, but I’m sure when it’s her turn we will get to see what’s under the surface.

• There are a couple of twists/new developments that occur later on in the book, none of which are alluded to in the synopsis, which is fine by me, though I think that we probably didn’t need both situations to make the romance work.

• My only complaints about The Closer You Come was that it was a little long for a contemporary (for me). I like my contemporaries in the 300-350 range and this one is over 434 pages. It was an excellent book, I just thought that with the two surprises near the end, taking one of them out would have put things a little shorter.

Overall The Closer You Come was an excellent summertime read and I cannot wait to get to The Hotter You Burn.

Kimberly