Genre: Paranormal


Nov 03

Review * Vampire Academy Graphic Novel

Reviews 0 ★★★

Review * Vampire Academy Graphic NovelVampire Academy Graphic Novel by Emma Vieceli, Leigh Dragoon, Richelle Mead
Series: Vampire Academy #1
Published by Razorbill on August 23, 2011
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 144
Format: Paperback
Source: Borrowed
Also in this series: Vampire Academy Series
Add to: Goodreads
three-stars
After two years on the run, best friends Rose and Lissa are caught and returned to St. Vladimir’s Academy, a private high school for vampires and half-bloods. It’s filled with intrigue, danger—and even romance.

Enter their dark, fascinating world through a new series of 144-page full-color graphic novels. The entire first Vampire Academy novel has been adapted for book one by Leigh Dragoon and overseen by Richelle Mead, while the beautiful art of acclaimed British illustrator Emma Vieceli brings the story to life.

What I Thought…

• I fell in love with the Vampire Academy books over the summer and the graphic novel was tossed into my lap during readathon, so I thought why not?

• I enjoyed the glimpse that it gave me into the book. I didn’t actually read Vampire Academy, I watched the movie and then jumped into the second book so it gave me a different perspective than the movie, which I liked.

• For the most part I liked the graphic novelization of Vampire Academy, though there were things that made me scratch my head View Spoiler »

• I was quite surprised to find the entire novel done in one 144 page graphic novel, which means there was a lot of stuff left out, even more so than in the movie.

Overall I enjoyed the graphic novel Vampire Academy and I think fans of the book would enjoy it.

Kimberly


Sep 26

Review * Bloodlines Series #1-5 by Richelle Mead

Reviews 0 ★★★★

Review * Bloodlines Series #1-5 by Richelle MeadBloodlines Series by Richelle Mead
Series: Bloodlines #1-5
Published by Razorbill on August 23, 2011
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Blood doesn't lie...

Sydney is an alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of human and vampires. They protect vampire secrets - and human lives. When Sydney is torn from her bed in the middle of the night, at first she thinks she's still being punished for her complicated alliance with dhampir Rose Hathaway. But what unfolds is far worse. Jill Dragomir - the sister of Moroi Queen Lissa Dragomir - is in mortal danger, and the Moroi must send her into hiding. To avoid a civil war, Sydney is called upon to act as Jill's guardian and protector, posing as her roommate in the last place anyone would think to look for vampire royalty - a human boarding school in Palm Springs, California. But instead of finding safety at Amberwood Prep, Sydney discovers the drama is only just beginning...

My review of the Bloodlines series through book 5 will be spoiler free for all books, however there will be a few spoilers for the Vampire Academy Series.

What I Thought…

• I devoured the Vampire Academy books and was looking forward to reading the Bloodlines series. I absolutely loved the world that Mead created and was excited to see it continue. I was unprepared for just how much I would love the Bloodlines series though.

• We first meet Sydney when Rose is hunting Dimitri and I was kind of meh about her, but as we get to know Sydney in Bloodlines I knew I was going to like these books better. I’m much more Sydney than Rose. Sydney is very strait laced and strongly believes in what the alchemists believe, that all vampires and dhampirs are bad.

• Adrian is way better than Dimitri. It definitely helps that we get to know him much more than we ever got to know Dimitri, but I just find him overall more likeable and interesting than Dimitri. Compared to Adrian Dimitri is pretty boring. Adrian is still struggling with spirit and it’s hard to see the emotional toll that it is taking on him. Harder still when he starts narrating in The Fiery Heart.

• Mead builds on the Vampire Academy even more in the Bloodlines series. View Spoiler » I love how she meanders about weaving new things into what already happened in the Vampire Academy series. They are still working on spirit and what happens when you change Strogoi and all sorts of other good things.

• In Vampire Academy we got a small glimpse into the Alchemist world, in Bloodlines we learn so much more. And not all of it will give you warm fuzzies.

• Bloodlines is still in a school setting, but one completely different from Vampire Academy. Bloodlines takes place at a human boarding school in California. This provides a different atmosphere for the books, as well as new challenges.

• We don’t get to see too much of Rose or Lissa (or Christian, which makes me sad) but we do get a lot of Jill and Eddie and some new people, both Alchemists and vampires.

Overall I can’t get enough of this series and I am so excited to read The Ruby Circle!

Kimberly


Sep 15

Review * Croak by Gina Damico

Reviews 2 ★★★★★

Review * Croak by Gina DamicoCroak by Gina Damico
Narrated by Jessica Almasy
Series: Croak #1
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers on March 20, 2012
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Time: 8 Hours 16 Minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
Fed up with her wild behavior, sixteen-year-old Lex's parents ship her off to upstate New York to live with her Uncle Mort for the summer, hoping that a few months of dirty farm work will whip her back into shape.

But Uncle Mort's true occupation is much dirtier than shoveling manure. He's a Grim Reaper. And he's going to teach Lex the family business.

She quickly assimilates into the peculiar world of Croak, a town populated by reapers who deliver souls from this life to the next. But Lex can't stop her desire for justice - or is it vengeance? - whenever she encounters a murder victim, craving to stop the attackers before they can strike again.

Will she ditch Croak and go rogue with her reaper skills?

What I Thought…

• Croak is one of those books that I’m kicking myself for not reading earlier. It was funny with a twist. There is a little something for everyone to enjoy.

• Lex is getting in some serious trouble at school and at home, which is why her parents decide a summer with Uncle Mort might be just the trick to snap her out of this phase. When she arrives she finds out that she’s going to be a reaper rather than work on a farm. Lex isn’t exactly pleased to be “killing” people. It takes her some time to come to grips with the fact that they are already dead, she’s just helping to collect their souls. Lex was such an awesome character. She was snarky, funny and generally pissed off. She has a twin sister that stayed home and she struggles with being apart from her and keeping secrets.

• Driggs is Lex’s partner. He’s been doing his job for awhile so he knows the ropes and helps steer Lex away from problems, until they come across one that they just can’t leave alone. Driggs is also a bit snarky and him and Lex make a good pair. There are also a few other teenagers working in Croak and they kind of form a Scooby-Doo like gang, but instead of ghosts they are looking for a bad reaper.

• I absolutely loved Croak, the town. This is where the reapers live and work and where the souls come to reside. It was so well written that I could see it, and that doesn’t happen often for me.  All of the names of business were very tongue in cheek as well. My favorite part was the after life. It is so cool that the reapers are allowed to go in there and see what it’s like (and also manage it).

• Edgar Allan Poe is a prominent character in their visits to the after life and never failed to make me laugh. There are some other recognizable names as well, but he’s the best.

• Lex, Driggs and the gang are trying to find out who the reaper is that is killing people they aren’t supposed to. They mystery wasn’t too extravagant, but wasn’t too simple either. Once you learn the person responsible it all fits together. The person responsible is also going to be someone you are going to want to punch in the face because what they did at the end was totally unforgivable.

Overall I absolutely loved Croak and would recommend it to anyone that loves paranormal and/or snarky fun books!

Kimberly


Sep 02

Review * Trial by Fire by Josephine Angelini

Reviews 0 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Trial by Fire by Josephine AngeliniTrial by Fire by Josephine Angelini
Series: The Worldwalker Trilogy #1
Published by Feiwel & Friends on September 2, 2014
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Love burns. Worlds collide. Magic reigns.

This world is trying to kill Lily Proctor. Her life-threatening allergies keep her from enjoying many of the experiences that other teenagers take for granted...which is why she is determined to enjoy her first (and perhaps only) high-school party. But Lily's life never goes according to plan, and after a humiliating incident in front of half her graduating class Lily wishes she could just disappear.

Suddenly Lily is in a different Salem - one overrun with horrifying creatures and ruled by powerful women called Crucibles. Strongest and cruellest of all the Crucibles is Lillian . . . Lily's identical other self in this alternate universe. This new version of her world is terrifyingly sensual, and Lily is soon overwhelmed by new experiences.

Lily realizes that what makes her weak at home is exactly what makes her extraordinary in New Salem. It also puts her life in danger. Thrown into a world she doesn't understand, Lily is torn between responsibilities she can't hope to shoulder alone, and a love she never expected.

But how can Lily be the saviour of this world when she is literally her own worst enemy?

What I Liked

The World

The world that Angelini created is vast and intricate. It’s not just about witches but also alternate universes. In her own world Lily has no idea that she is a witch but then an unfortunate incident occurs that makes her more susceptible to things and she ends up being pulled into another Salem by Lillian, herself in this other universe.  The Salem that Angelini created was a combination of magical, historical and present day. There was also the Woven, which were frightening. Everything about it was fascinating. Outside of the city live the Outlanders and they were an interesting bunch, using science instead of witchcraft to help their people. Seriously, I cannot rave about this world enough.

Lily

At first Lily kind of annoyed me. Her belief in Tristan was over the top and she had blinders on. But I loved her when she got pulled into the other Salem. She went from being quiet (and allergy prone) to being strong and willing to use her strength to help other people. I loved how she handled the Tristan 2 and watching her struggle to adapt to the differences in this Salem.

Rowan

Rowan was completely awesome. Naturally he was good looking but also patient and kind to Lily, while being a hard ass at the same time. I thought it would be weird because in the past he was in love with Lillian, but it wasn’t. He knew they were two different people and knew the differences between them, even if he was conflicted about his feelings most of the time.

Magic

Just like the world, the magic was also fascinating. They used willstones and could do some pretty bad ass things. On the flip side of course that means that bad magic can be powerful as well. There was mind speak and claiming and lots of other things!

Juliette

We don’t get to spend much time with Juliette in Lily’s world, but the other Juliette was fatastic. It’s hard to talk about exactly why because of spoilers but while she acts meek, she really isn’t

Gideon & Carrick

The bad were very bad indeed.

What I Didn’t Like

The World

I loved the world Angelini created, but it was super complex and there were a few times I found myself stopping and saying “Wait, what?”

Lillian

I didn’t buy her reason for bringing Lily to her world and all her actions leading up to it. That’s just not the answer to the problem.

Slow Start & Rushed Ending

The beginning of Trial by Fire started a bit slow, but once we got into the other Salem things picked up. They picked up so much so that the ending felt like it was over in a flash! I wish we had more of the fighting before that cliffhanger of an ending.

Tristan & Tristan

I didn’t like either Tristan. The first Tristan because he’s a jerk. The other Tristan because he just felt… off. I’m not convinced he’s trust worthy but I guess we’ll see what happens next.

Overall

Trial by Fire is an excellent start to a trilogy with lots of world building and an ending that leaves you wanting more.

Kimberly


Jul 31

Review * Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Reviews 4 ★★★

Review * Shiver by Maggie StiefvaterShiver by Maggie Stiefvater
Series: Wolves of Mercy Falls #1
Published by Scholastic Press on August 1, 2009
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 390
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to: Goodreads
three-stars
For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—is a chilling presence she can't seem to live without.

Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human… until the cold makes him shift back again.

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It's her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human—or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.

What I Thought…

The Wolves of Mercy Falls series wasn’t one that I had planned on reading, but when the whole trilogy came up for sale on Amazon for $3.99 it was too good of a deal to pass up. Since everyone has been talking about Sinner lately it put me in the mood to read Shiver.

Before I even talk about Shiver I need to talk about Stiefvater’s writing. It’s absolutely amazing. She could make the dictionary sound pretty and poetic. She could rewrite my least favorite book ever and I would read it, and I would probably like it. She’s very talented.

As with other books I’ve read by Stiefvater Shiver isn’t exactly fast paced, but it’s seriously hard to put down, there are things happening, it’s just at a more lingering pace. Except for Grace and Sam’s interest in each other, which is instalove, or maybe even instaobsessed as they have both been obsessed with each other since the incident. Despite their obsession Grace and Sam are cute together as they work through their relationship as humans, rather than Grace the human staring at Sam the wolf.

Stiefvater’s werewolves are a bit different from traditional werewolves. They are controlled by the moon phases, nor can they change at will. They change based on temperature. Even after one book I’m not completely sold on this idea for werewolves, but I trust that Stiefvater knows where she is going with it. It did present some unique challenges for Sam and his pack (and for Grace) as winter sets in.

One of the things I always hated about the Twilight series was that the wolves carried around clothes in some little container thing strapped to their leg. That idea was completely ridiculous in every way. I’m happy to report Stiefvater didn’t have any crazy ideas for her werewolves!

I liked Grace well enough, but I liked Olivia and Isabel a bit more (which has me very excited about Sinner). There wasn’t anything specifically wrong with Grace, I just didn’t “get” her. I liked Sam as well. I liked how focused he was on being human and how much love he had for his pack, even though they aren’t perfect.

I’m normally terrible at predicting things in books, but everything that was going on with Olivia seemed so obvious! Other than that though I didn’t really pick out much else, though after finishing there were some clues along the way.

Overall Shiver was an enjoyable read and I can’t wait to see what more is in store for Sam and Grace.

Kimberly


Jul 28

Review * Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead

Reviews 2 ★★★★

Review * Vampire Academy Series by Richelle MeadVampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead
Narrated by Emily Shaffer, Khristine Hvam
Series: Vampire Academy #1-6
Published by Razorbill Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Also in this series: Vampire Academy Graphic Novel
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
St. Vladimir’s Academy isn’t just any boarding school—it’s a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. They’ve been on the run, but now they’re being dragged back to St. Vladimir’s—the very place where they’re most in danger. . . .

Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy’s ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi—the world’s fiercest and most dangerous vampires—make Lissa one of them forever.

What I Thought…

Since I blew through this series in just 10 days I thought I would do a series review. I will give a few thoughts on each book, be forewarned – there will be spoilers – it’s impossible to talk about the series without them.

I really enjoyed the vampire world that Mead created. The two different types of vampires and the guardians were unique and made for a very good series.

VA1Ok, I didn’t read this one. Don’t throw stones! I watched the movie and was dying to know what happened next so I just jumped right into book two. Shameful, I know. (I do plan on reading it later, I promise!)


 

VA2I really enjoyed Frostbite. I love the world that Mead created and I love how snarky Rose is. In Frostbite we learn a little more about the world that they live in and also the battle between the Strogoi and Moroi. One of my favorite parts of Frostbite is discovering the relationship between Rose and her mother. There is a lot of animosity there and this is the first time in a long time that they are in the same place. Also new guy, Adrian, appears.


 

VA3Shadow Kiss had quite a bit of action as the war between the Moroi and Strogoi heat up. The Strogoi are hell bent on taking out the Moroi royal families and the academy is the perfect place to start. There was so much action in this one it was almost impossible to put down. As I hadn’t planned on reading the series I wasn’t avoiding spoilers but now I wish I would have because I have some inkling as to what is going to happen with Dimitri.


 

VA4Blood Promise takes us out of St. Vladimir’s and into Russia as Rose leaves to hunt down and kill Dimitri. The first part of Blood Promise was a bit boring as Rose is just traveling through Russia looking for Dimitri. We do meet Sydney though, whom I really liked and I hope to see more from her in the future. Even though it was a bit boring in the beginning we learn a lot more about the Strogoi, Moroi and Dhampirs as well as some other little quirks that Mead created in her world. The second half of the book really picks up as Rose fights Strgoi and we get some more glimpses into Lissa’s head to keep up with what’s been happening at St. Valdimir’s (lots of shadyness going on). Since Rose didn’t exactly leave on good terms and her and Lissa are now separated things were a bit tense and I was frustrated that neither of them could figure things out!


 

VA5The hunt for the “cure” for Dimitri begins and Rose and the gang makes some pretty bad choices in their quest to help him. In some ways they had to do what they did of course things didn’t go as planned and unleashed a whole lot of crazy. Dimitri is looking for Rose. Lissa is determined to be able to stake a Strogoi. Adrian and Rose are dating but I feel like this is a Twilight kind of love triangle and Adrian really isn’t a choice for Rose. Nothing against Dimitri, but I do like Adrian and hope that he gets a happily ever after. Christian and Lissa dance around each other a lot and it’s painful to watch because you know they should be together. There is something very off about Queen Tatiana in Spirit Bound and it’s very unnerving (She is being way too nice). Also the whole thing with Victor is bothered me because the break out happened and then… nothing.


VA6Wow what an ending! I absolutely loved how the series ended. Last Sacrifice had a lot of action in it and was pretty fast paced. At times Rose’s inability to follow directions drove me crazy, even though I know she had her reasons. I loved the storyline with Lissa it was fascinating to see the tests that she had to go through. There were a few things that I could see coming (hints of foreshadowing in previous books), but that didn’t take away the enjoyment.


Overall I absolutely LOVED the Vampire Academy series and if you haven’t read it already I would add it to your list.


Kimberly


Feb 10

Review * Split Second by Kasie West

Reviews 3 ★★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Borrowed in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Split Second by Kasie WestSplit Second by Kasie West
Series: Pivot Point #2
Published by HarperTeen on February 11, 2014
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Format: ARC
Source: Borrowed
Also in this series: Pivot Point
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
Addie has always been able to see the future when faced with a choice, but that doesn't make her present any easier. Her boyfriend used her. Her best friend betrayed her. So when Addie's dad invites her to spend her winter break with him in the Norm world, she jumps at the chance. There she meets the handsome and achingly familiar Trevor. He's a virtual stranger to her, so why does her heart do a funny flip every time she sees him? But after witnessing secrets that were supposed to stay hidden, Trevor quickly seems more suspicious of Addie than interested in her. She wants to change that.

Laila, her best friend, has a secret of her own: she can restore Addie's memories . . . once she learns how. But there are powerful people who don't want this to happen. Desperate, Laila tries to manipulate Connor, a brooding bad boy from school—but he seems to be the only boy in the Compound immune to her charms. And the only one who can help her.

In the suspenseful sequel to Pivot Point, Addie tries desperately to retrieve her lost memories and piece together a world she thought she knew before she loses the love she nearly forgot.

There are no spoilers for Split Second but there is no getting around spoilers from Pivot Point.

What I Thought…

  • To sum it up, Kasie West is amazing. Seriously, I love her characters, her plots, her writing, I love it all!
  • Split Second is the follow up to Pivot Point. When we left Addie in Pivot Point she just made the hardest choice of her life, choosing her best friend over a boy. If you’ve read Pivot Point you know that that was obviously the right choice and having her memory wiped of her memory of that choice was also the right thing for Addie to do, but I hurt for Addie because I wanted her to have that other choice!
  • In split second we get alternating POV’s between Laila and Addie rather than Addie’s two choices. I worried a bit about changing the POV’s between books, but I had no reason to worry! I loved also being inside Laila’s head. She is quite different from Addie and brought a lot of additional things to the story that couldn’t have been done solely with Addie’s POV.
  • I think my absolute favorite thing about Split Second was watching Addie fall for Trevor again. Even though we all know they belong together Addie’s choice forced them apart and then she had her memory erased so she wouldn’t have to remember her choices. Watching her interact and fall for Trevor again was so sweet!
  • There is also a second swoony boy in Split Second, but you don’t have to choose between them! Connor is all Laila’s and they make such a cute couple, even though they are quite resistant to it. Connor is a little bit dark and a lot brooding but cares so much about hurting people. It’s so sweet.
  • The not so fabulous Duke is around a bit too much in Split Second, doing things he shouldn’t be doing and misusing his ability again.
  • In Pivot Point we knew that there were a lot of abilities but we only learned a lot about a few of them . We learn a lot more about some other abilities in Split Second, some of which can be a little scary to think about! Addie’s new ability of slowing down time is pretty sweet!
  • It’s really hard to talk about the plot of Split Second without spoilers but here goes. Addie is suffering from the incident with Bobbie and what happened with Duke and is going to visit her dad off the compound. Laila is supposed to give Addie something on a certain date but isn’t sure she should. The Compound wants things and doesn’t want other things, and goes after things. The end. There were quite a few twists and turns, a few of which I was completely unprepared for (but oh were they genius!).

In short, if you haven’t read a book by Kasie West, I suggest you get on that!

Kimberly


Jan 23

Review * Evertrue by Brodi Ashton

Reviews 2 ★★★★

Review * Evertrue by Brodi AshtonEvertrue by Brodi Ashton
Series: Everneath #3
Published by Balzer + Bray on January 21, 2013
Genres: Mythology, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Also in this series: Everneath, Everbound
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Now that Nikki has rescued Jack, all she wants is to be with him and graduate high school. But Cole tricked Nikki into feeding off him, and she’s begun the process of turning into an Everliving herself... which means she must feed on a Forfeit soon — or die.

Terrified for her survival, Nikki and Jack begin a desperate attempt to reverse the process using any means possible. Even Cole, who they expected to fight them at every turn, has become an unlikely ally — but how long can it last? Nikki needs to feed on Cole to survive, Cole needs Nikki to gain the throne in the Everneath, Jack needs Nikki because she is everything to him — and together, they must travel back to the Underworld to undo Nikki’s fate and make her mortal once more. But Cole isn’t the only one with plans for Nikki: the Queen has not forgotten Nikki’s treachery, and she wants her destroyed for good. Will Nikki be forced to spend eternity in the Underworld, or does she have what it takes to bring down the Everneath once and for all?

In this stunning conclusion to the Everneath trilogy, Brodi Ashton evokes the resiliency of the human spirit and the indomitable power of true love.

While I don’t like to include spoilers in my review Everneath is the 3rd book in a trilogy so there WILL be spoilers for both Everneath and Everbound. No way to avoid it!

What I Thought…

  • Evertrue was one of my top 5 books I am excited for in 2014. So much so that I made sure that all the work things got done so I could read it the minute I get home from work. (Funny story: We had a snow day on Tuesday so I didn’t have to work so I was super excited because then I could read it the moment in graced my front doorstep. Which turned out to be 6:30 pm. Not cool.) Thankfully Brodi Ashton did not disappoint!
  • Evertrue picks up right where Everbound leaves off. I sometimes worry about this because what if I don’t remember? But I remember the ending of Everbound REALLY WELL so that wasn’t a problem here.
  • We continue to see Nikki grow and change and become the kind of person she wants to be. She is dealing with becoming an everliving and it’s weighing heavily on her because it is so not what she wants. I loved her struggles with this and her determination to not allow Jack (or Cole) to sway her to make a decision she is not happy with.
  • Nikki’s whole purpose in life right now is to destroy the Everneath. She will not give in to what she will become so she sees that as her only option. This results in an epic journey not just for her, but for Jack and Cole as well.
  • Speaking of Jack… sigh. He is still amazing as ever, with a bit of an extra bonus due to his time in the Everneath. His determination to protect Nikki at all costs was both sweet and frustrating since her and Jack didn’t always see eye to eye on what was best.
  • Cole was both what I expected this book and not what I expected. There was a twist that changed some things up that sent me in a different direction from my original thoughts, but at the same time Cole is still Cole, and cannot be forgiven for what he did in Everbound.
  • Like in both Everneath and Everbound the world building is fantastic. I could picture what it was like in my head, and that’s a rare feat for me. As twisted as the Everneath is I want to go there and see all the amazing things and watch all the amazing people and creatures and things.
  • There were beetles. *shudder*
  • Evertrue is pretty intense, though there were enough funny moments to not make it completely dark and depressing. It moves at a bit of a slower pace than Everbound, but not too slowly.
  • I had two issues with Everture. One was the plot twist with Cole. It was a little too convenient and is not one of my favorite things in books (because of its convenience). Ashton made it work (as it usually does), but still, not my favorite thing. The second was that the ending wrapped up a bit too quickly. I would have liked to have seen a bit more of how things had to go down and a bigger deal made of it.
  • Personally I loved the ending, though I can see that not everyone may like it. I thought it was fitting for everyone involved, and that’s really all I can say about that without spoilers.

If you haven’t yet read the Everneath Trilogy I definitely recommend it!

Everneath

Kimberly


Nov 21

Review * Parallel by Lauren Miller

Reviews 3 ★★★★★

Review * Parallel by Lauren MillerParallel by Lauren Miller
Published by HarperTeen on May 14, 2013
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
Abby Barnes had a plan. The Plan. She'd go to Northwestern, major in journalism, and land a job at a national newspaper, all before she turned twenty-two. But one tiny choice—taking a drama class her senior year of high school—changed all that. Now, on the eve of her eighteenth birthday, Abby is stuck on a Hollywood movie set, miles from where she wants to be, wishing she could rewind her life. The next morning, she's in a dorm room at Yale, with no memory of how she got there. Overnight, it's as if her past has been rewritten.

With the help of Caitlin, her science-savvy BFF, Abby discovers that this new reality is the result of a cosmic collision of parallel universes that has Abby living an alternate version of her life. And not only that: Abby's life changes every time her parallel self makes a new choice. Meanwhile, her parallel is living out Abby's senior year of high school and falling for someone Abby's never even met.

As she struggles to navigate her ever-shifting existence, forced to live out the consequences of a path she didn't choose, Abby must let go of the Plan and learn to focus on the present, without losing sight of who she is, the boy who might just be her soul mate, and the destiny that's finally within reach.

What I Thought…

  • I’ve heard a lot of good things about Parallel but I was a little nervous because it has also been compared to Pivot Point, which I absolutely loved. I can see the similarities between Parallel and Pivot Point, but it was also quite different, and I loved it!
  • The multi-verse/parallel universe concept is one that I’ve just recently gotten excited to read about and I loved where Parallel took me. There were a few parts that were a little sciency and I’m not ashamed to admit that it made my eyes gloss over and I just kept right on plugging through. I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again: I really don’t care if the science actually works, as long as the plot does.
  • In parallel there is an incident and two parallel worlds collide and Abby’s whole future changes and there is some fluke that causes Abby to be affected differently than everyone else and she remembers her other past not the parallel’s past, until her parallel lives out the year (yes, I know that was confusing)! Obviously every decision parallel Abby makes affects Abby. Small decisions may go unnoticed in Abby’s new life but big ones have a huge impact. I like that Miller paid attention to those facts and had both little and big changes in Abby’s life. There were also a few subtle hints throughout the book about how things were going down.
  • Abby’s two different lives were vastly different, resulting from the fact that in her own life she took a drama class and in her parallel’s life she ended up with astronomy. Despite all the differences it was nice to see that Abby was still (kind of) the same person.
  • I didn’t love Abby, but I didn’t hate her either. Even with the memory gaps Abby made some baffling decisions, though I can believe that some of it came from the stress of what is happening.
  • Obviously there is a love triangle. We have Josh who is in her past (parallel Abby’s life) and Michael who is in her present. I was so much more drawn to Josh than Michael. There wasn’t anything particularly awful about Michael, but he just wasn’t who I wanted for Abby. I liked the twist involving the two boys and even though I didn’t see it coming, it didn’t surprise me either.
  • Abby’s BFF Caitlin was my least favorite character. I thought Abby and Caitlin had a great friendship though, but Caitlin rubbed me the wrong way a lot of times. She was just a little too perfect.
  • What made Parallel so amazing was the ending. I loved how it came together, how Abby made her choices (not just regarding the boys, but everything in life) and how it impacted others.
  • I’m so glad that this isn’t a trilogy or series. Sometimes it’s just great to read a standalone!

Notable Quotes

“That’s the funny thing about life. We’re rarely aware of the bullets we dodge. The just-misses. The almost-never-happeneds. We spend so much time worrying about how the future is going to play out and not nearly enough time admiring the precious perfection of the present.”

Kimberly


Jul 25

Review * Pivot Point by Kasie West

Reviews 14 ★★★★★

Review * Pivot Point by Kasie WestPivot Point by Kasie West
Series: Pivot Point #1
Published by HarperTeen on February 12, 2013
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 343
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Also in this series: Split Second
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
Knowing the outcome doesn’t always make a choice easier . . .

Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes. It’s the ultimate insurance plan against disaster. Or so she thought. When Addie’s parents ambush her with the news of their divorce, she has to pick who she wants to live with—her father, who is leaving the paranormal compound to live among the “Norms,” or her mother, who is staying in the life Addie has always known. Addie loves her life just as it is, so her answer should be easy. One Search six weeks into the future proves it’s not.

In one potential future, Addie is adjusting to life outside the Compound as the new girl in a Norm high school where she meets Trevor, a cute, sensitive artist who understands her. In the other path, Addie is being pursued by the hottest guy in school—but she never wanted to be a quarterback’s girlfriend. When Addie’s father is asked to consult on a murder in the Compound, she’s unwittingly drawn into a dangerous game that threatens everything she holds dear. With love and loss in both lives, it all comes down to which reality she’s willing to live through . . . and who she can’t live without.

What I Thought…

  • Pivot Point completely blew me away. I don’t even know where to begin my review, it was that amazing.
  • For me at least the concept of Pivot Point was unique. I’ve never read anything similar so it was fresh and different and I loved it!
  • Addie lives at the Compound, where people who have special mind abilities (mood changer, memory eraser, lie detector, etc) live away from the “normal” people.  Addie’s parents are getting a divorce and her father has decided to leave the Compound and live in the normal world and Addie has to decide if she wants to stay at the Compound with her mom or live in the “normal” world with her father. Addie is a searcher so when she has to make a choice she can see the outcome of each choice in the future before she makes it. Because this choice is so serious she decides to search six weeks into the future, which is a lot for her.
  • I was worried that I would be a little confused with the two choices, but it’s very clear as to whether she is living in the “paranormal” world or in the “normal” world. Even though she is looking at two different choices, there is one storyline that pops up in both choices and I was fascinated with how that developed. You see bits and pieces throughout both choices that you can kind of piece together, but not enough (for me anyway) to figure out the end.
  • West keeps you on your toes! Every time I thought I figured out which choice Addie would make something happened to change my mind. I went back and forth quite a bit throughout the book.
  • There are two boys, but it’s not a love triangle. In the “paranormal” world Addie has Duke, the quarterback. At first she isn’t so into him, but he slowly wins her over. In the “normal” world Addie has Trevor, who used to play football but hasn’t been able to play since he got hurt, he also has a bit of a nerdy side. It took me quite a while to settle on which guy I liked better, but I do not regret my choice!
  • I absolutely loved both sides of Addie. Even though she was on two different paths she was still her. I love how she struggled with her abilities while others seemed to relish theirs. I also felt like I could really connect with Addie. We’ve all been in that place where you have to make a decision and we all know how hard it is to make the right choice. As much as I wish I could have Addie’s ability so that I know beforehand what the right choice is I can see the drawbacks of being able to see the future.
  • I sometimes struggled with Addie’s best friend Laila. She was likeable in the “paranormal” choice but less likeable in the “normal” world. Part of this is because she wasn’t physically there and her and Addie were slowly growing apart and Laila’s attitude began changing. All was not well in the “paranormal” world between them though.

Overall I completely LOVED Pivot Point and you should definitely read it!

Notable Quotes

“I don’t care when people think I’m an antisocial, controlling, bookworm because that’s what I am. It’s when they interpret me wrong that I have a problem.”

“One person can’t change the future. Do you know how many people and things are involved in every major event that happens? Sure, you might be able to change some of the minor aspects of a day, but ultimately things that are going to happen, if you go along a certain path, do happen.”

Kimberly