Genre: Science Fiction


Dec 12

Review * The Last Star by Rick Yancey

Reviews 1 ★★

Review * The Last Star by Rick YanceyThe Last Star by Rick Yancey
Narrated by Ben Yannette, Phoebe Strole
Series: The 5th Wave #3
Published by Putnam Juvenile on May 24, 2016
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Time: 9 Hours 17 Minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Add to: Goodreads
two-stars
The enemy is Other. The enemy is us.

They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human.

What I Thought…

UGH!!!!!! I enjoyed both The Fifth Wave and The Infinite Sea but this…. UGH!!!

“I looked into his chocolate fondue fountain eyes.” – need I say more?

Disappointed.

View Spoiler »

And really????

View Spoiler »

I listened to the audio and tuned in and out, I’m sure I missed things but it wasn’t as riveting as the previous books and in the end I just wanted it to be over.
I’m disappointed that the twist that I thought was coming didn’t actually come because that would have made more sense.

View Spoiler »

Also:

View Spoiler »

Overall… don’t bother.

Kimberly


Oct 15

Review * Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Reviews 2 ★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Borrowed in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay KristoffIlluminae by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
Series: Illuminae Files #1
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on October 20, 2015
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 608
Format: ARC
Source: Borrowed
Add to: Goodreads
three-stars
This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet's AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it's clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she'd never speak to again.

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

What I Thought…

• Illuminae was all over the place for me. Overall I liked it.

Pro: The cover. I would not have been drawn to this book if it wasn’t for the cover. Check it out, it’s awesome. The inside is pretty awesome too.

Con: The writing style. I’m not hugely surprised but the unique writing style was a struggle for me. It is told through multiple viewpoints as a report so there are many different styles. This made it easy for me to be pulled out of the story, especially in the beginning. Once I got used to it, things rolled a little smoother.

Pro: Kady. She is pretty badass. Her lovey/dovey stuff with Ezra sometimes got on my nerves but her determination to save peoples lives more than made up for it.

Con: The middle third. It took me a long, long time to go through the middle third of the book. It seemed to drag on and not much was happening.

Pro: The last third. Lots of action and badassery and twists and turns and a big &$*# you at the end. I cannot even express how much I loved the ending and how it worked out.

Pro & Con: Phobos, the deadly plague. This is a pro because it is a pretty terrifying plague that made things interesting. It’s a con because it is a pretty terrifying plague and people died. And went crazy.

Overall I enjoyed Illuminae and I do plan on reading the next book, though I hope it’s a wee bit shorter. If you like space and unique writing styles then you will probably love Illuminae more than I did.

Kimberly


Jul 16

Review * Alienated by Melissa Landers

Reviews 2 ★★

Review * Alienated by Melissa LandersAlienated by Melissa Landers
Series: Alienated #1
Published by Disney Hyperion on February 4th 2014
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to: Goodreads
two-stars
Two years ago, the aliens made contact. Now Cara Sweeney is going to be sharing a bathroom with one of them. Handpicked to host the first-ever L''eihr exchange student, Cara thinks her future is set. Not only does she get a free ride to her dream college, she''ll have inside information about the mysterious L''eihrs that every journalist would kill for. Cara''s blog following is about to skyrocket. Still, Cara isn''t sure what to think when she meets Aelyx. Humans and L''eihrs have nearly identical DNA, but cold, infuriatingly brilliant Aelyx couldn''t seem more alien. She''s certain about one thing though: no human boy is this good-looking. But when Cara''s classmates get swept up by anti-L''eihr paranoia, Midtown High School suddenly isn''t safe anymore. Threatening notes appear in Cara''s locker, and a police officer has to escort her and Aelyx to class. Cara finds support in the last person she expected. She realizes that Aelyx isn''t just her only friend; she''s fallen hard for him. But Aelyx has been hiding the truth about the purpose of his exchange, and its potentially deadly consequences. Soon Cara will be in for the fight of her life—not just for herself and the boy she loves, but for the future of her planet.

What I Thought…

• This was a case of Alienated wasn’t really for me. I don’t care much for aliens, but I read and liked Armentrouts Lux series so I though I would give his one a shot.

• Character wise Cara and Aelyx were fine. They weren’t the most memorable, but there was nothing wrong with them. I liked that Cara wanted to support the L’eihr’s being there, even when the majority of people rebelled against it, which of course involved her.

• I found myself having a hard time caring about the story and some of the wierd alien things pulled me out of the story, but that’s on me. I took a chance and it didn’t pay off for me, but I can understand why many or readers enjoyed alienated.

Overall Alienated was an ok read for me, but I would recommend it to anyone who loves science fiction and aliens.

Kimberly


Feb 23

Review * The 100 by Kass Morgan

Reviews 2 ★★★

Review * The 100 by Kass MorganThe 100 by Kass Morgan
Narrated by Justin Torres, Phoebe Strole
Series: The Hundred #1
Published by Little Brown BYR on March 18, 2014
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Time: 7 Hours 21 Minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Add to: Goodreads
three-stars
No one has set foot on Earth in centuries -- until now.

Ever since a devastating nuclear war, humanity has lived on spaceships far above Earth's radioactive surface. Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents -- considered expendable by society -- are being sent on a dangerous mission: to recolonize the planet. It could be their second chance at life...or it could be a suicide mission.

CLARKE was arrested for treason, though she's haunted by the memory of what she really did. WELLS, the chancellor's son, came to Earth for the girl he loves -- but will she ever forgive him? Reckless BELLAMY fought his way onto the transport pod to protect his sister, the other half of the only pair of siblings in the universe. And GLASS managed to escape back onto the ship, only to find that life there is just as dangerous as she feared it would be on Earth.

Confronted with a savage land and haunted by secrets from their pasts, the hundred must fight to survive. They were never meant to be heroes, but they may be mankind's last hope.

What I Thought…

• I try to follow the book before movie/tv show, but sometimes I give in, and I definitely gave in to The 100. I’m not a huge space person, but EVERYONE was talking about the tv show so I thought, why not? I watched it, enjoyed it, so I thought I would give the book a shot.

• Other than the fact that the tv show has 100 juvenile delinquents being dropped from space it is vastly different from the book. I thought that the first season would basically be book one, it is far from it.

Read more »

Kimberly


Jan 09

Review * Zodiac by Romina Russell

Reviews 0 ★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via BEA in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Zodiac by Romina RussellZodiac by Romina Russell
Series: Zodiac #1
Published by Razorbill on December 9th, 2014
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
Source: BEA
Add to: Goodreads
three-stars
Rhoma Grace is a 16-year-old student from House Cancer with an unusual way of reading the stars. While her classmates use measurements to make accurate astrological predictions, Rho can’t solve for ‘x’ to save her life—so instead, she looks up at the night sky and makes up stories.

When a violent blast strikes the moons of Cancer, sending its ocean planet off-kilter and killing thousands of citizens—including its beloved Guardian—Rho is more surprised than anyone when she is named the House’s new leader. But, a true Cancerian who loves her home fiercely and will protect her people no matter what, Rho accepts.

Then, when more Houses fall victim to freak weather catastrophes, Rho starts seeing a pattern in the stars. She suspects Ophiuchus—the exiled 13th Guardian of Zodiac legend—has returned to exact his revenge across the Galaxy. Now Rho—along with Hysan Dax, a young envoy from House Libra, and Mathias, her guide and a member of her Royal Guard—must travel through the Zodiac to warn the other Guardians.

But who will believe anything this young novice says? Whom can Rho trust in a universe defined by differences? And how can she convince twelve worlds to unite as one Zodiac?

Read more »

Kimberly


Sep 05

Review * Opposition by Jennifer L Armentrout

Reviews 0 ★★★★★

Review * Opposition by Jennifer L ArmentroutOpposition by Jennifer L Armentrout
Series: Lux #5
Published by Entangled Teen on August 5, 2014
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 534
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Also in this series: Obsidian, Onyx, Origin
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
Katy knows the world changed the night the Luxen came.

She can't believe Daemon welcomed his race or stood by as his kind threatened to obliterate every last human and hybrid on Earth. But the lines between good and bad have blurred, and love has become an emotion that could destroy her—could destroy them all.

Daemon will do anything to save those he loves, even if it means betrayal.

They must team with an unlikely enemy if there is any chance of surviving the invasion. But when it quickly becomes impossible to tell friend from foe, and the world is crumbling around them, they may lose everything— even what they cherish most—to ensure the survival of their friends…and mankind.

War has come to Earth. And no matter the outcome, the future will never be the same for those left standing.

What I Thought…

• Opposition is one of my favorite series enders ever. It was action packed and wrapped up the way I wanted it too. It was awesome. Amazing. Breathtaking. Seriously, you should read this series.

• If there is one thing I’ve learned about this series its TRUST NO ONE. No one is safe, ever, and that holds true in Opposition. She knows how to write twists that keep me on my toes.

• There have been a couple times in this series that Armentrout effectively rips out my heart and stops on it with things that happen to certain characters, and that happens again in Opposition. In my head what happens totally makes sense, but it broke my heart all the same.

• Daemon is one of my top ten favorite characters. Over the course of reading this series he has made me want to throw things and then immediately turn that around and make me swoon. I love how he feels about Katy and his need to protect her but also trust her at the same time. I love how inappropriate he is at times but that he balances that with legit ideas and plans for fixing things.

• Katy is still a good strong heroine who doesn’t take anyone’s crap, especially these invading Luxen. She smarts a little bit from what happened at the end of Origin, but still manages to stay strong for Bethany’s sake. And once things really start rolling she is back in action mode, determined to stay strong and fix things (as much as one person can) for the country.

• All my favorite secondary characters are around, Dee, Dawson, Archer, Bethany, Luc, and all are part of the fight. Ok, maybe not Bethany, but there are reasons, right? There is a lot of mischievousness going on with all of them involved.

• Despite all the fighting and saving the world, Opposition is just as steamy as the previous books.

• I can’t think of a single negative thing to say about Opposition other than the fact that I am sad that the series is over. I’m really going to miss Daemon, Katy and the rest of the gang!

Overall Opposition is a strong ending to a fantastic series. You won’t regret reading it!

Kimberly


Aug 22

Review * Origin by Jennfer L. Armentrout

Reviews 0 ★★★★

Review * Origin by Jennfer L. ArmentroutOrigin by Jennifer L Armentrout
Series: Lux #4
Published by Entangled Teen on August 27, 2013
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 364
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Also in this series: Obsidian, Onyx, Opposition
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything.

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on?

And will they even be together?

What I Thought…

• Origin is my favorite in the series so far. We’ll see what happens in Opposition but Armentrout has her work cut out to beat Origin!

• Orgin was pretty fast paced, and kept me guessing as to what would happen next. There is also more information about what’s going on in Daedalus (it’s not good) and more info about the Lux, Arum and other extraterrestrial business.

• This is really the first time that I felt a lot of alien vibes in the series. I’m not a fan of aliens, but these ones are alright I guess so this are essentially just like humans, but with powers. Which I guess is my issue with the aliens. I find it hard to believe that an alien species from a planet far, far away would look just like humans, and be able to act just like humans and all that jazz. I just don’t buy that kind of alien, however it works for me because it’s the only kind of alien I can handle.

• TRUST NO ONE. EVER.

• Seriously, you can’t trust anyone. Between the last book and this one there was so much backstabbing and deviousness, it was crazy.

• The ending killed me. There was so much that I did not expect. View Spoiler » Origin had a big reveal, which I saw coming, and then a cliffhanger of an ending!

Overall I can’t wait to read the conclusion to the Lux series, I must know what happens next!

Kimberly


Aug 15

Review * Onyx by Jennifer L Aremntrout

Reviews 0 ★★★★

Review * Onyx by Jennifer L AremntroutOnyx by Jennifer L Armentrout
Series: Lux #2
Published by Entangled Teen on August 14, 2012
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 366
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Also in this series: Obsidian, Origin, Opposition
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we're linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there's this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that's possible. Against all common sense, I'm falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

Warning: There will be spoilers for the first book in the series, Obsidian.

What I Thought…

• It’s quite possible the romantic tension between Katy and Daemon will kill me. There is so much and I just want to yell at them to get over it already.

• Katy is going through lots of weird stuff in Onyx. After Daemon healed her in Obsidian she is having some very uncomfortable after effects.

• There is a new student at school, Blake. I was really worried that this was going to turn into a love triangle, but even though it kind of almost was a love triangle, it really wasn’t. Every time she was with Blake she was thinking about Daemon.

• Daemon does quite a bit of changing in Onyx. He’s still a bit of jerk, but since he’s decided to stop fighting his attraction to Katy he’s being much nicer. He goes through a couple of not so nice phases, but you kind of understand why.

• TRUST NO ONE!!!!

• Seriously, Armentrout does not allow you to fully trust anyone. Things can change on a dime.

• We see a lot more of the other Luxen siblings, Adam, Andrew and Ash. Ash was impossible in Obsidian, but I’ve come around to her a bit in Onyx. I like that the Luxen themselves are like a family and will protect one another the best they can.

• My heart broke a little bit at the end. It’s just not fair for authors to do that! View Spoiler »

• I still feel that aliens that look like humans is a bit of a cop out, but I suppose that’s the only way that you could get this whole human/alien thing to work. I guess the reason why these alien books work so well for me is because I don’t really feel like I’m reading about aliens, which is fine with me as I don’t really like them. (I also really like that we’re just chillin on planet earth).

Overall Onyx is a great second book in the series and I can’t wait to read the rest!

Kimberly


Aug 04

Review * Obsidian by Jennifer Armentrout

Reviews 2 ★★★★

Review * Obsidian by Jennifer ArmentroutObsidian by Jennifer L Armentrout
Series: Lux #1
Published by Entangled Teen on November 23, 2011
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 355
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Also in this series: Onyx, Origin, Opposition
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I'd pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring... until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something... unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon's touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I'm getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don't kill him first, that is.

What I Thought…

• Aliens. Not really my thing. They are usually gross and creepy and the ones that are “just like humans” I’ve always thought was a bit of a cop out so I pretty much avoid all things alien. Books and movies. But lately I’ve been feeling like Jennifer L Armentrout has been all up in my face so I decided to take a chance and read Obsidian, and I am so glad I did!

• Katy is a book blogger and that alone makes her awesome. It was awesome to see a little bit of that thrown in there. I also really liked her. She was funny, a little snarky, and had lots of feelings.

• Daemon is your typical hot guy suffering from “I’m a jerk” syndrome, for which he kind of has a reason as he really shouldn’t be associating with “the others.” His brashness towards Katy made me like him more as I know that he has a good reason for pushing her away. Plus I loved watching them argue.

• Dee is Daemon’s twin and my favorite character in the book. She was a ball of energy, constantly in motion and talking and would sometimes make my head spin, but that just made me like her more because she just wanted to have a real friend.

• Katy takes the whole alien thing pretty well. I would have been freaking out.

• Katy has a tendency to act before thinking, which causes some issues, but she’s not some weak human who will just bow down to all things alien.

• There are two kinds of aliens, the good and the bad. It was a little weird for me, especially at the ending when the alieness was in full force, but I really did enjoy the story.

Overall I’m glad I took the plunge and read an alien book, it was well worth it!

Kimberly


Jun 26

Review * All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

Reviews 4 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via SYNC Audio in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * All Our Yesterdays by Cristin TerrillAll Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill
Published by Disney Hyperion on September 3, 2013
Genres: Science Fiction, Thriller, Young Adult
Time: 9 Hours 25 Minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: SYNC Audio
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
                                             What would you change?

Imprisoned in the heart of a secret military base, Em has nothing except the voice of the boy in the cell next door and the list of instructions she finds taped inside the drain

Only Em can complete the final instruction. She’s tried everything to prevent the creation of a time machine that will tear the world apart. She holds the proof: a list she has never seen before, written in her own hand. Each failed attempt in the past has led her to the same terrible present—imprisoned and tortured by a sadistic man called the doctor while war rages outside.

Marina has loved her best friend, James, since they were children. A gorgeous, introverted science prodigy from one of America’s most famous families, James finally seems to be seeing Marina in a new way, too. But on one disastrous night, James’s life crumbles, and with it, Marina’s hopes for their future. Marina will protect James, no matter what. Even if it means opening her eyes to a truth so terrible that she may not survive it... at least, not as the girl she once was. Em and Marina are in a race against time that only one of them can win.

All Our Yesterdays is a wrenching, brilliantly plotted story of fierce love, unthinkable sacrifice, and the infinite implications of our every choice.
  • In my renewal of love for Young Adult books a couple years ago I’ve discovered that I really like time travel books and All Our Yesterdays was one that I was very excited about. The premise sound really cool and a bit different from other time travel books I’ve read and I was happy to see that it was one of SYNC Audio’s free downloadable audiobooks this summer.
  • As with other time travel books there is a science behind it. Personally I  like when they don’t tell me too much because I’m not a science person and I don’t really care to know the specifics. I just want to know enough to make the story work. For me the science behind everything worked.
  • At first I found the story to be confusing, but I feel like that is mostly the audio’s fault, not the books fault (more on that later). It was hard to tell the difference between Em and Marina at times. Once I figured everything out though I really got into the story. The second half moved at a fast pace and I couldn’t stop listening!
  • It’s really hard to talk about the characters in All Our Yesterdays without any spoilers. There is so much going on between them and in the past/present and everything intertwines, which makes talking about the characters difficult. We have four main characters: Em, Marina, Finn and James. I liked Em and Finn, Marina sometimes got on my nerves and James was ok in a crazy kind of way.
  • The plot was both intricate and simple at the same time. Em and Finn were going back in time to prevent time travel being possible due to the effects it had on the world. In it’s simplicity Em and Finn are just going back and stopping an idea, however they have been there and done that several times before without getting the necessary results.
  • While I enjoyed All Our Yesterdays I had a difficult time with the audiobook. The narration was ok, but there were two narrator, Em and Marina, and the voice was the same for both, so if I missed the name sometimes it took me a bit to figure out which time we were in.

Overall I would recommend All Our Yesterdays to anyone who likes action or time travel!

Kimberly