Genre: Young Adult


Feb 13

Review * #famous by Jilly Gagnon

Reviews 1 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * #famous by Jilly Gagnon#famous by Jilly Gagnon
Published by Katherine Tegan Books on February 14, 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
In this modern-day love story, Girl likes Boy, Girl takes photo of Boy and posts it online, Boy becomes accidentally insta-famous. And what starts out as an innocent joke spirals into a whirlwind adventure that could change both their lives—and their hearts—forever. But are fame and love worth the price?

Told in alternating points of view, #famous captures the out-of-control thrill ride of falling for someone in front of everyone.

What I Thought…

• I read this in one sitting. It was so hard to put down!

• Rachel sneaks a picture of her crush and it ends of going viral. I feel like something similarish happened in real life, but maybe not? It goes viral in a positive way for Kyle, but not so much for Rachel.

• Obviously social media plays a large roll in the book and unfortunately people can be cruel online, especially to people they don’t know. It was really hard to read some the flits that Rachel got from these random people. It broke my heart that she had to read these things and then deal with it. For the most part I liked how it was handled in the book.

• Kyle was adorable but a little clueless, but since I think in general teenage boys can be clueless it didn’t seem out of the normal. For a good part of the book he didn’t see the other side of what happened for Rachel, which was frustrating at times. But he definitely made up for it in the end.

• The whole viral thing gets so big that Kyle goes on the Laura talk show and ends up getting Rachel involved. I hated how this played out for Rachel. View Spoiler »

• Rachel and Kyle were super cute together as they tried to navigate what is going on in their life and deal with their attraction to each other.

• Kyle’s best friend Ollie was absolutely awesome. Rachel’s best friend was less awesome. She did something in the book that made me super angry for Rachel, but also a lot of the time Rachel seemed like a better friend to her than she was to Rachel.

• Mean Girl Alert! There were two specific mean girls in the book and one of them was super vicious the other lashed out over what was happening and how it affected her. Either way they were mean and terrible to Rachel. The one situation was better handled (she did NOT come out the winner) but I did like how both were handled.

• My one complaint is I felt like #famous just kind of stopped. I was a little taken aback that there wasn’t another page. With that said though I liked how everything worked out so no other complaints.

Overall #famous was a fast paced, enjoyable read with a super adorable couple in it.

Kimberly


Jan 30

Review * By Your Side by Kasie West

Reviews 2 ★★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * By Your Side by Kasie WestBy Your Side by Kasie West
Published by HarperTeen on January 31, 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

What I Thought…

• When was the last time Kasie West disappointed me? Never!

• How awesome would it be to be stuck in a library? I don’t care how unrealistic the logistics were, it would be fun!

• I was pleasantly surprised that By Your Side did not take place entirely in the library. This made the book so much better because we get to see what happens after the library.

• So many feels!

• Autumn has anxiety and I appreciated how well she was written and the message that came across with it. Autumn was still a strong character, but it also showed how she dealt with it (or in some cases didn’t deal with it).

• Dax was smooth and easy despite his upbringing. He had a lot going on even though he wasn’t given a lot to start with.

• There is a little more to the story than just the library, which I appreciate. I won’t go in to details, but I will say that I didn’t like all of Autumns friends. The situation regarding how she got left at the library made me angry, and I don’t feel that they were true friends. Autumn explained som

Overall another great contemporary from Kasie West. You won’t be disappointed!

Kimberly


Jan 16

Review * This Is Our Story by Ashley Elston

Reviews 1 ★★★★★

Review * This Is Our Story by Ashley ElstonThis Is Our Story by Ashley Elston
Published by Disney Hyperion on November 15, 2016
Genres: Mystery, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
Five went in. Four came out.

No one knows what happened that morning at River Point. Five boys went hunting. Four came back. The boys won’t say who fired the shot that killed their friend; the evidence shows it could have been any one of them.

Kate Marino’s senior year internship at the district attorney’s office isn’t exactly glamorous—more like an excuse to leave school early that looks good on college applications. Then the DA hands her boss, Mr. Stone, the biggest case her small town of Belle Terre has ever seen. The River Point Boys are all anyone can talk about. Despite their damning toxicology reports the morning of the accident, the DA wants the boys’ case swept under the rug. He owes his political office to their powerful families.

Kate won’t let that happen. Digging up secrets without revealing her own is a dangerous line to walk; Kate has her own reasons for seeking justice for Grant. As investigates with Stone, the aging prosecutor relying on Kate to see and hear what he cannot, she realizes that nothing about the case—or the boys—is what it seems. Grant wasn’t who she thought he was, and neither is Stone’s prime suspect. As Kate gets dangerously close to the truth, it becomes clear that the early morning accident might not have been an accident at all—and if Kate doesn’t uncover the true killer, more than one life could be on the line…including her own.

What I Thought…

• I could not put down This Is Our Story. It had me from the get go and wouldn’t let go of it’s hold on me.

• I love the way the story was told. There were chapter’s from Kate’s POV and also interludes from the killer’s POV, only we don’t know who it is.

• Nothing is as it seems. There are five boys in the group, one of them is killed and the other four agree to this pact to “protect” themselves. It’s absolutely crazy, but I could totally see this being a real story.

• Kate was pretty awesome. I loved her job in the courthouse and that she was fiercer than I thought she would be.

• There were quite a few plots twists. Some I saw coming, some I didn’t. It was really hard to know what was true and what was a lie.

• Belle Terre is a small town and I loved the mix of small town politics combined with rich people politics. It added another delicious element to the story.

• I was pleasantly surprised that there was a little romance in Belle Terre. I picked up This Is Our Story because of how intriguing the mystery was, and given that half the characters are suspects to a murder I just assumed no romance.

• Kate’s BFF Reagan was the kind of best friend everyone should have in high school. She calls it like it is, but is also supportive.

Overall you should read This Is Our Story. Now. Seriously. The mystery has so many twists and turns – you won’t regret it.

Kimberly


Jan 11

Review * The Sun Is Also a Star

Reviews 2 ★★★★★

Review * The Sun Is Also a StarThe Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers on November 1, 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 348
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

What I Thought…

• OMG! THIS BOOK! So many feels!

• I’m honestly not even sure where to begin. I feel like this book turned my brain into complete mush and I am having a hard time having coherent thoughts. There is just so much to talk about and it’s all amazing.

• Natasha and Daniel were amazing. Natasha is an illegal Jamaican immigrant and while Daniel was born in America, his parents were not. They were modeled after the author’s own relationship which is all kinds of awesome. I loved learning a little bits of information about the Jamaican and Korean cultures, and how they are the same/different here in America. Their families came here for different reasons in different manners and that really shaped the lives of their children.

• At first I wasn’t too sure about the style it was written in. Natasha and Daniel are the two main characters but throughout The Sun Is Also a Star there are other POV’s and little tidbits of information relevant to the story woven through the story. These parts really came to grow on me, especially the informational ones. We learn about the theory behind eyes, and how it came to be that African-American hair care stores tended to be owned by Koreans. It was all so fascinating!

• There is a lot of discussion in The Sun Is Also a Star over destiny/fate and science. I know that I fall somewhere in the middle of both and I loved that Natasha was full of the science of things and Daniel was full of “meant to be”. It was a good mix and I enjoyed how they shifted a little bit in how they feel about things.

• I think my favorite part of the story was how everything was woven in and you see how their chance meeting affected others lives and how those lives affected them. The intertwining was so smooth and really hits home how one small thing can make a difference in the life of someone else.

• Both Natasha and Daniel have someone in their family who is less than awesome. For me, Daniel’s brother was THE WORST. Ugh.

• I also liked how Yoon gave us a little snippet of the futures of not just Natasha and Daniel but also some of the other lives in the story. I really liked the ending, even though I wanted to punch a certain person in the face for his actions because things could have turned out differently, but then again, I think that ending would have been too cheesy for me and this one was better.

Overall if you haven’t read The Sun Is Also a Star yet run to the bookstore pick it up and read it now. It was AMAZING!

Kimberly


Dec 12

Review * The Last Star by Rick Yancey

Reviews 1 ★★

Review * The Last Star by Rick YanceyThe Last Star by Rick Yancey
Narrated by Ben Yannette, Phoebe Strole
Series: The 5th Wave #3
Published by Putnam Juvenile on May 24, 2016
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Time: 9 Hours 17 Minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Add to: Goodreads
two-stars
The enemy is Other. The enemy is us.

They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human.

What I Thought…

UGH!!!!!! I enjoyed both The Fifth Wave and The Infinite Sea but this…. UGH!!!

“I looked into his chocolate fondue fountain eyes.” – need I say more?

Disappointed.

View Spoiler »

And really????

View Spoiler »

I listened to the audio and tuned in and out, I’m sure I missed things but it wasn’t as riveting as the previous books and in the end I just wanted it to be over.
I’m disappointed that the twist that I thought was coming didn’t actually come because that would have made more sense.

View Spoiler »

Also:

View Spoiler »

Overall… don’t bother.

Kimberly


Aug 15

Review * Game On by Michelle Smith

Reviews 3 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Game On by Michelle SmithGame On by Michelle Smith
Series: Lewis Creek #2
Published by Bloomsbury Spark on August 16, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 328
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
As king of baseball in the small town of Lewis Creek, Eric Perry can have any girl he wants and win every game he plays. But when a fight lands him in jail, he’s only got one more strike before his baseball career is over for good. His only chance for redemption? The girl next door, Bri Johnson.

Bri hasn’t talked to Eric in months—for starters, she’s been too busy dealing with her jerk of an ex-boyfriend, not to mention the fact that Eric’s been preoccupied trying to drink every keg in the country dry. But when he needs a way to stay on the team, she proposes a plan: if he helps her out with community service, he can stay on the team. At first it’s a nightmare—Eric and Bri stopped being friends years ago, surely that was for a good reason, right? But as volunteering turns to bonding over old memories of first kisses under the stars, they start to have trouble remembering what pushed them apart.

In a town as small as Lewis Creek, nothing stays secret for long and their friendship and romance might mean bad news. But in this final, tumultuous spring before graduation, Eric and Bri are about to realize that nobody’s perfect alone, but they might just be perfect together.

What I Thought…

• Game on was one of my most anticipated books for awhile. I loved Play On and was so excited to see that there was going to be another book set in Lewis Creek. I flew through Game On and have no regrets of staying up late to finish it.

• I’m a huge fan of boy/girl next door books and this one is even better because they were friends when they were kids and just kind of grew apart. I love that they were able to fall back in to that friendship.

• At the beginning Bri is dating this asshole Matt. He is controlling and Bri is finally starting to see that she needs to get out, but has a hard time with it. While it was painful to read at times, it was realistic… it’s easy to get stuck in these relationships and have a hard time getting out. View Spoiler »

• Eric is quite the trouble maker. It annoyed me how much got covered up in the beginning, but we all know that in some places student athletes get things covered up, and I’ve heard of a lot worse. I really like that Eric finally started to understand that it was a bit of self fulfilling prophecy and that he needed to change.

• Bri has a rough family situation and my heart just broke for her. Her mom left when she was a kid and her dad is a truck driver so she is alone a lot. It’s a good thing that Eric has an awesome family and they are right next door.

• I think one of the best things about Game On was that there were adults, and adults that were not idiots and just there because the author decided to throw an adult in. They played a good roll in the story and I loved Eric’s parents. Honestly, I loved his whole family, they are the kind of family that you can’t help but love in all their craziness.

• There needed to be more kissing. Definitely not enough kissing.

• I also wish that the plot line with Bri’s ex Matt would have not overshadowed Bri and Eric’s developing relationship. I felt that it dragged on a bit and there were enough other things going on for Bri and Eric to deal with.

Overall I loved returning back to Lewis Creek and Game On is a perfect summer read!

Kimberly


Mar 24

Review * Walk the Edge by Katie McGarry

Reviews 1 ★★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Walk the Edge by Katie McGarryWalk the Edge by Katie McGarry
Series: Thunder Road #2
Published by Harlequin Teen on March 29, 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Also in this series: Nowhere But Here
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
One moment of recklessness will change their worlds

Smart. Responsible. That's seventeen-year-old Breanna's role in her large family, and heaven forbid she put a toe out of line. Until one night of shockingly un-Breanna-like behavior puts her into a vicious cyber-bully's line of fire—and brings fellow senior Thomas "Razor" Turner into her life.

Razor lives for the Reign of Terror motorcycle club, and good girls like Breanna just don't belong. But when he learns she's being blackmailed over a compromising picture of the two of them—a picture that turns one unexpected and beautiful moment into ugliness—he knows it's time to step outside the rules.

And so they make a pact: he'll help her track down her blackmailer, and in return she'll help him seek answers to the mystery that's haunted him—one that not even his club brothers have been willing to discuss. But the more time they spend together, the more their feelings grow. And suddenly they're both walking the edge of discovering who they really are, what they want, and where they're going from here.

What I Thought…

• When I read Nowhere But Here (the first in this series) it was hard not to compare it to Pushing the Limits, while I still loved Nowhere But Here it was missing that something extra. Walk the Edge made up for that in spades. I started reading this before bed and ended up finishing it at 1:30 in the morning.

• McGarry does it again and hits me in all the feels. I felt emotionally connect to the characters from the beginning and it didn’t wane at all throughout the book.

• Razor and Breanna’s relationship is a slow burn. You can feel the attraction, but they don’t jump and act on it right away, they dance around each other a bit.

• Despite Razor’s rough edges it’s impossible not to like him. Everyone sees him exactly as he wants them to – bad and not to be messed with, but he goes out of his way to make them see him that way. He knows what he wants, to be a part of the MC, but in know way does that make him as bad as he thinks he is. He’s struggling to find his place in the MC and dealing with his mother’s death.

• Breanna has a totally different situation. She is the middle child in a large family and doesn’t seem to fit in with the older kids or younger kids. She often feels left out and is struggling to find her place in her family and the world. I found her parents to be quite frustrating at times they way they dumped on her, but I also get that with that many kids things like that happen. They weren’t awful parents or anything just… absent for Breanna.

• I loved the way that Breanna and Razor officially meet. Her ride is late so she is stuck at school and it’s getting late and dark. Breanna is obviously scared of Razor, but also sees a different side of him. This meeting is also hilariously awkward, which I always appreciate.

• There is quite a bit going on in Walk the Edge, but I the aspect I liked best was how they dealt with their growing attraction and how other people acted towards it. As Razor is the “bad boy” they all think he can’t possibly be good for her. There is also a lot of hatred towards their relationship. It was also a struggle for Breanna to accept some of the things that come along with Razor being part of the MC.

• Breanna really comes into her own and takes a stand in many ways as to what she wants and what she deserves. She also ultimately steps up in a situation that many people would have just accepted.

• I would love for Breanna’s friend Addison to get her own story. She has quite a few of her own problems and definitely needs a happily ever after in her life.

Overall if you love contemporary young adult books than Walk the Edge is definitely for you!

Kimberly


Jan 12

Review * Lying Out Loud by Kody Keplinger

Reviews 3 ★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Purchased in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Lying Out Loud by Kody KeplingerLying Out Loud by Kody Keplinger
Series: The Duff #2
Published by Scholastic Press on April 28, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 309
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Also in this series: The Duff
Add to: Goodreads
three-stars
Sonny Ardmore is an excellent liar. She lies about her dad being in prison. She lies about her mom kicking her out. And she lies about sneaking into her best friend's house every night because she has nowhere else to go.

Amy Rush might be the only person Sonny shares everything with - secrets, clothes, even a nemesis named Ryder Cross. Ryder's the new kid at Hamilton High and everything Sonny and Amy can't stand - a prep-school snob. But Ryder has a weakness: Amy. So when Ryder emails Amy asking her out, the friends see it as a prank opportunity not to be missed.

But without meaning to, Sonny ends up talking to Ryder all night online. And to her horror, she realizes that she might actually 'like' him. Only there's one small catch: he thinks he's been talking to Amy. So Sonny comes up with an elaborate scheme to help Ryder realize that she's the girl he's really wanted all along. Can Sonny lie her way to the truth, or will all her lies end up costing her both Ryder and Amy?

What I Thought…

Lying Out Loud is more about friendship than it is about romantic relationship and I loved that. Sonny and Amy are thick and thin BFF’s and there are some issues that pop up that they have to work through and I love that not only does Lying Out Loud showcase a strong friendship but it shows that sometimes you have to work through things to keep that friendship going, it’s not always easy.

The ending was so freaking good and perfect in the way that endings should be (not everything is tied up in a bow for the characters), but the rest of the book wasn’t as spectacular. It was still good, but not quite as good as The DUFF. Sonny was quite frustrating at times (girl just tell the truth, ok) and that made it hard to like her (and probably why I didn’t like this as much as The DUFF).

Overall if you enjoyed The DUFF I recommend you pick up Lying Out Loud.

Kimberly


Nov 23

Review * Everything But the Truth by Mandy Hubbard

Reviews 1 ★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Everything But the Truth by Mandy HubbardEverything But the Truth by Mandy Hubbard
Series: If Only... #6
Published by Bloomsbury Childrens on November 17
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 288
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Also in this series: Not in the Script, Wild Hearts
Add to: Goodreads
three-stars
Holly Mathews' mom is the new manager of a ritzy retirement home, and they just moved in. But having super-rich retirees as her only neighbors isn't a total bust, because the gorgeous, notorious Malik Buchannan is the grandson of a resident. Just one problem: when they meet, Malik assumes Holly is there to visit her own rich relative. She doesn't correct him, and it probably doesn't matter, because their flirtation could never turn into more than a superficial fling . . . right? But the longer she lives in his privileged world, the deeper Holly falls for Malik, and the harder it is to tell the truth . . . because coming clean might mean losing him.

For anyone who has dreamed of their own Cinderella story, this romance shows that when it comes to true love, the best person to be is yourself!

What I Thought…

I absolutely adored Everything But the Truth. It was cute and funny, which is exactly what I needed at this moment. Holly was frustrating at times – lies and more lies get you nowhere, but the reason why it all started was so sweet and kind that it was hard to get really mad at her for doing it.

Malik had his own issues, which I wish would have been dealt with a bit more, but it was dealt with enough to keep me happy. I really enjoyed his grandfather, he wasn’t quite the curmudgeon I thought he was going to turn out to be.

I think the best thing about Everything But the Truth though was how Holly and Malik were an interracial couple, but that it wasn’t the core issue of the book, in fact it wasn’t an issue at all, it was just who they were. I really appreciated that the author didn’t turn it into a “people don’t want them together because they are interracial” story.

Holly’s best friend Alex isn’t the most likable person throughout the book, but I loved how her story was woven in through Holly’s, and what could have been a terrible secondary plot worked out beautifully. (Also, I’m tired of the terrible best friend in books, so I’m glad all was well.)

Kimberly


Oct 15

Review * Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Reviews 2 ★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Borrowed in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay KristoffIlluminae by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
Series: Illuminae Files #1
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on October 20, 2015
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 608
Format: ARC
Source: Borrowed
Add to: Goodreads
three-stars
This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet's AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it's clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she'd never speak to again.

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

What I Thought…

• Illuminae was all over the place for me. Overall I liked it.

Pro: The cover. I would not have been drawn to this book if it wasn’t for the cover. Check it out, it’s awesome. The inside is pretty awesome too.

Con: The writing style. I’m not hugely surprised but the unique writing style was a struggle for me. It is told through multiple viewpoints as a report so there are many different styles. This made it easy for me to be pulled out of the story, especially in the beginning. Once I got used to it, things rolled a little smoother.

Pro: Kady. She is pretty badass. Her lovey/dovey stuff with Ezra sometimes got on my nerves but her determination to save peoples lives more than made up for it.

Con: The middle third. It took me a long, long time to go through the middle third of the book. It seemed to drag on and not much was happening.

Pro: The last third. Lots of action and badassery and twists and turns and a big &$*# you at the end. I cannot even express how much I loved the ending and how it worked out.

Pro & Con: Phobos, the deadly plague. This is a pro because it is a pretty terrifying plague that made things interesting. It’s a con because it is a pretty terrifying plague and people died. And went crazy.

Overall I enjoyed Illuminae and I do plan on reading the next book, though I hope it’s a wee bit shorter. If you like space and unique writing styles then you will probably love Illuminae more than I did.

Kimberly