Publisher: Disney Hyperion


Jan 16

Review * This Is Our Story by Ashley Elston

Reviews 1 ★★★★★

Review * This Is Our Story by Ashley ElstonThis Is Our Story by Ashley Elston
Published by Disney Hyperion on November 15, 2016
Genres: Mystery, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
Five went in. Four came out.

No one knows what happened that morning at River Point. Five boys went hunting. Four came back. The boys won’t say who fired the shot that killed their friend; the evidence shows it could have been any one of them.

Kate Marino’s senior year internship at the district attorney’s office isn’t exactly glamorous—more like an excuse to leave school early that looks good on college applications. Then the DA hands her boss, Mr. Stone, the biggest case her small town of Belle Terre has ever seen. The River Point Boys are all anyone can talk about. Despite their damning toxicology reports the morning of the accident, the DA wants the boys’ case swept under the rug. He owes his political office to their powerful families.

Kate won’t let that happen. Digging up secrets without revealing her own is a dangerous line to walk; Kate has her own reasons for seeking justice for Grant. As investigates with Stone, the aging prosecutor relying on Kate to see and hear what he cannot, she realizes that nothing about the case—or the boys—is what it seems. Grant wasn’t who she thought he was, and neither is Stone’s prime suspect. As Kate gets dangerously close to the truth, it becomes clear that the early morning accident might not have been an accident at all—and if Kate doesn’t uncover the true killer, more than one life could be on the line…including her own.

What I Thought…

• I could not put down This Is Our Story. It had me from the get go and wouldn’t let go of it’s hold on me.

• I love the way the story was told. There were chapter’s from Kate’s POV and also interludes from the killer’s POV, only we don’t know who it is.

• Nothing is as it seems. There are five boys in the group, one of them is killed and the other four agree to this pact to “protect” themselves. It’s absolutely crazy, but I could totally see this being a real story.

• Kate was pretty awesome. I loved her job in the courthouse and that she was fiercer than I thought she would be.

• There were quite a few plots twists. Some I saw coming, some I didn’t. It was really hard to know what was true and what was a lie.

• Belle Terre is a small town and I loved the mix of small town politics combined with rich people politics. It added another delicious element to the story.

• I was pleasantly surprised that there was a little romance in Belle Terre. I picked up This Is Our Story because of how intriguing the mystery was, and given that half the characters are suspects to a murder I just assumed no romance.

• Kate’s BFF Reagan was the kind of best friend everyone should have in high school. She calls it like it is, but is also supportive.

Overall you should read This Is Our Story. Now. Seriously. The mystery has so many twists and turns – you won’t regret it.

Kimberly


Jul 16

Review * Alienated by Melissa Landers

Reviews 2 ★★

Review * Alienated by Melissa LandersAlienated by Melissa Landers
Series: Alienated #1
Published by Disney Hyperion on February 4th 2014
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to: Goodreads
two-stars
Two years ago, the aliens made contact. Now Cara Sweeney is going to be sharing a bathroom with one of them. Handpicked to host the first-ever L''eihr exchange student, Cara thinks her future is set. Not only does she get a free ride to her dream college, she''ll have inside information about the mysterious L''eihrs that every journalist would kill for. Cara''s blog following is about to skyrocket. Still, Cara isn''t sure what to think when she meets Aelyx. Humans and L''eihrs have nearly identical DNA, but cold, infuriatingly brilliant Aelyx couldn''t seem more alien. She''s certain about one thing though: no human boy is this good-looking. But when Cara''s classmates get swept up by anti-L''eihr paranoia, Midtown High School suddenly isn''t safe anymore. Threatening notes appear in Cara''s locker, and a police officer has to escort her and Aelyx to class. Cara finds support in the last person she expected. She realizes that Aelyx isn''t just her only friend; she''s fallen hard for him. But Aelyx has been hiding the truth about the purpose of his exchange, and its potentially deadly consequences. Soon Cara will be in for the fight of her life—not just for herself and the boy she loves, but for the future of her planet.

What I Thought…

• This was a case of Alienated wasn’t really for me. I don’t care much for aliens, but I read and liked Armentrouts Lux series so I though I would give his one a shot.

• Character wise Cara and Aelyx were fine. They weren’t the most memorable, but there was nothing wrong with them. I liked that Cara wanted to support the L’eihr’s being there, even when the majority of people rebelled against it, which of course involved her.

• I found myself having a hard time caring about the story and some of the wierd alien things pulled me out of the story, but that’s on me. I took a chance and it didn’t pay off for me, but I can understand why many or readers enjoyed alienated.

Overall Alienated was an ok read for me, but I would recommend it to anyone who loves science fiction and aliens.

Kimberly


Nov 27

Review * Killer Instinct by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Reviews 3 ★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via BEA in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Killer Instinct by Jennifer Lynn BarnesKiller Instinct by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Series: The Naturals #2
Published by Disney Hyperion on November 4, 2013
Genres: Thriller, Young Adult
Pages: 386
Format: ARC
Source: BEA
Add to: Goodreads
three-stars
Seventeen-year-old Cassie Hobbes has a gift for profiling people. Her talent has landed her a spot in an elite FBI program for teens with innate crime-solving abilities, and into some harrowing situations. After barely escaping a confrontation with an unbalanced killer obsessed with her mother’s murder, Cassie hopes she and the rest of the team can stick to solving cold cases from a distance.

But when victims of a brutal new serial killer start turning up, the Naturals are pulled into an active case that strikes too close to home: the killer is a perfect copycat of Dean’s incarcerated father—a man he’d do anything to forget. Forced deeper into a murderer’s psyche than ever before, will the Naturals be able to outsmart the enigmatic killer’s brutal mind games before this copycat twists them into his web for good?

With her trademark wit, brilliant plotting, and twists that no one will see coming, Jennifer Lynn Barnes will keep readers on the edge of their seats (and looking over their shoulders) as they race through the pages of this thrilling novel.

What I Thought…

• Similar to the first book, The Naturals, Killer Instinct runs through like a episode of Criminal Minds. I really enjoyed the mystery and all it’s twists and turns. This particular case reminded me a bit of an old NCIS episode, which is one of my favorites, so I loved the twists.

• Even though Cassie is the narrator, Killer Instinct focuses a lot on Dean. The case intertwines with Dean’s father, who is a serial killer. We learn so much more about Dean in this book, and I wish he had been the narrator, I would have loved to have been up in his head instead.

• The fact that Killer Instinct focuses on Dean I wonder if the other books in the series will focus on the other Naturals as well.

• I love the Naturals group as a whole. They are all so different, but not at the same time and I think that even though they don’t always get along they are a great group and work well together to find the killer. High school kids catching serial killers is fairly unbelievable, but if you can suspend belief than you will enjoy the mystery in Killer Instinct.

• I don’t particularly care for the love triangle, even though it’s more of a legit triangle than say, Twilight. Cassie does make a choice at the end of the book, and I’m ok with it, but I wish she hadn’t made a choice. I feel like the group would work better if there were no romantic entanglements, but that’s just how I feel.

Overall Killer Instinct is a quite the thriller and fans of Criminal Minds will enjoy this!

Kimberly


Jun 26

Review * All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

Reviews 4 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via SYNC Audio in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * All Our Yesterdays by Cristin TerrillAll Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill
Published by Disney Hyperion on September 3, 2013
Genres: Science Fiction, Thriller, Young Adult
Time: 9 Hours 25 Minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: SYNC Audio
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
                                             What would you change?

Imprisoned in the heart of a secret military base, Em has nothing except the voice of the boy in the cell next door and the list of instructions she finds taped inside the drain

Only Em can complete the final instruction. She’s tried everything to prevent the creation of a time machine that will tear the world apart. She holds the proof: a list she has never seen before, written in her own hand. Each failed attempt in the past has led her to the same terrible present—imprisoned and tortured by a sadistic man called the doctor while war rages outside.

Marina has loved her best friend, James, since they were children. A gorgeous, introverted science prodigy from one of America’s most famous families, James finally seems to be seeing Marina in a new way, too. But on one disastrous night, James’s life crumbles, and with it, Marina’s hopes for their future. Marina will protect James, no matter what. Even if it means opening her eyes to a truth so terrible that she may not survive it... at least, not as the girl she once was. Em and Marina are in a race against time that only one of them can win.

All Our Yesterdays is a wrenching, brilliantly plotted story of fierce love, unthinkable sacrifice, and the infinite implications of our every choice.
  • In my renewal of love for Young Adult books a couple years ago I’ve discovered that I really like time travel books and All Our Yesterdays was one that I was very excited about. The premise sound really cool and a bit different from other time travel books I’ve read and I was happy to see that it was one of SYNC Audio’s free downloadable audiobooks this summer.
  • As with other time travel books there is a science behind it. Personally I  like when they don’t tell me too much because I’m not a science person and I don’t really care to know the specifics. I just want to know enough to make the story work. For me the science behind everything worked.
  • At first I found the story to be confusing, but I feel like that is mostly the audio’s fault, not the books fault (more on that later). It was hard to tell the difference between Em and Marina at times. Once I figured everything out though I really got into the story. The second half moved at a fast pace and I couldn’t stop listening!
  • It’s really hard to talk about the characters in All Our Yesterdays without any spoilers. There is so much going on between them and in the past/present and everything intertwines, which makes talking about the characters difficult. We have four main characters: Em, Marina, Finn and James. I liked Em and Finn, Marina sometimes got on my nerves and James was ok in a crazy kind of way.
  • The plot was both intricate and simple at the same time. Em and Finn were going back in time to prevent time travel being possible due to the effects it had on the world. In it’s simplicity Em and Finn are just going back and stopping an idea, however they have been there and done that several times before without getting the necessary results.
  • While I enjoyed All Our Yesterdays I had a difficult time with the audiobook. The narration was ok, but there were two narrator, Em and Marina, and the voice was the same for both, so if I missed the name sometimes it took me a bit to figure out which time we were in.

Overall I would recommend All Our Yesterdays to anyone who likes action or time travel!

Kimberly


Jun 23

Review * These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Reviews 4 ★★★★

Review * These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan SpoonerThese Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman, Meagan Spooner
Series: Starbound #1
Published by Disney Hyperion on December 10, 2013
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 374
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
It's a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

What I Thought…

  • Honestly, I’ve never really been one for space anything, but I was at a signing and they were there and they were awesome and I decided, what the hell? and bought the book. So glad I did.
  • These Broken Stars is pretty fast paced and intense. Lilac and Tarver get ship wrecked and land on this mysterious planet.
  • The planet was creepy and weird and unexplainable things happened. I found the planet to be absolutely fascinating. Kaufman and Spooner must have spent a lot of time creating something that was familiar yet not familiar to readers. They also had just the right amount of creep factor for me. Enough to keep me intrigued, but not so much that I had trouble sleeping
  • Lilac and Tarver and drawn to each other from the beginning, but Lilac (for reasons) pushes him away and Tarver respects that, though while they are on the planet alone things do change, once they start having conversations. I know a lot of people don’t like this kind of love interest set up as there are no other choices, but it worked for me here, and there are two more books that will have other people in it so there’s that.
  • Up until the end this was a five star read. I don’t want to spoil anything but I didn’t care for the one thing that happened. I wish they hadn’t gone there, but it only diminished the book a little bit for me, and I’m sure others wouldn’t have the issues with it that I did.
  • While These Broken Stars has an ending, there is still so much going on and I am so grateful that Andrea from The Overstuffed Bookcase gave me her copy to read!

Overall I recommend These Broken Stars to those who love Science Fiction and those that don’t!

Kimberly


Dec 26

Review * The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Reviews 4 ★★★★★

Review * The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn BarnesThe Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Narrated by Amber Faith
Published by Disney Hyperion on November 5, 2013
Genres: Mystery, Young Adult
Time: 7 Hours 28 Minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
Seventeen-year-old Cassie is a natural at reading people. Piecing together the tiniest details, she can tell you who you are and what you want. But it’s not a skill that she’s ever taken seriously. That is, until the FBI come knocking: they’ve begun a classified program that uses exceptional teenagers to crack infamous cold cases, and they need Cassie.

What Cassie doesn’t realize is that there’s more at risk than a few unsolved homicides— especially when she’s sent to live with a group of teens whose gifts are as unusual as her own.

Sarcastic, privileged Michael has a knack for reading emotions, which he uses to get inside Cassie’s head—and under her skin. Brooding Dean shares Cassie’s gift for profiling, but keeps her at arm’s length.

Soon, it becomes clear that no one in the Naturals program is what they seem. And when a new killer strikes, danger looms closer than Cassie could ever have imagined. Caught in a lethal game of cat and mouse with a killer, the Naturals are going to have to use all of their gifts just to survive.

What I Thought…

  • I was sucked into The Naturals from the very beginning. The Naturals is similar to a teenage version of Criminal Minds with a dash of the Scooby Doo gang thrown in.
  • The Naturals is a program founded by the FBI to work with teenagers who have certain “abilities” to help solve cold cases and eventually (I’m assuming) solve real cases when they are older and go through the FBI training. All five of the teenagers have special abilities such as being able to read people or being a human lie detector that appeal to the FBI.
  • Cassie was a strong main character, and used her strength to her advantage. Cassie also did not turn into a damsel in distress when things went bad, she remained strong. Cassie was very easy to connect with, she had lots of feelings and emotions, both good and bad, and it was easy to see where she was coming from and you couldn’t help but want good things for her.
  • I loved the whole group of teenagers. They were all different, yet shared enough qualities with others in the group that them working together wasn’t impossible. The boys, Dean and Michael, were total opposites and mostly likeable, though sometimes Michael annoyed me. The other girls, Lia and Sloane, were also quite different. Lia is the least likeable of the bunch, but she’s not all that bad. Sloane is  the outsider of the group but my favorite.
  • There was kind of a love triangle in The Naturals, but not really. Dean and Michael are both interested in Cassie, and there are times where she is interested in one or both of them, but the romance was so far in the background in The Naturals that it barely made a blip on my radar. Though if I must be honest, I do have a preference between the boys.
  • The Naturals weaves you in and out of a current case that the FBI agents are working on and a cold case that connects with Cassie’s past. Even though the teenagers aren’t supposed to be working on a current case you know there is no way they could stay away!
  • The mystery kept me on my toes and had just the right amount of creepy. Cassie and the other Naturals are working on connecting the current case with the cold case of Cassie’s mom’s murder. The mystery has a very criminal minds feel to it, which of course I loved. I listened to the audio and there were quite a few times that I got the chills. There are several “you” chapters (the voice of the killer) and the narrator did them in this low kind of whispery voice that was very creepy.
  • The Naturals is very fast paced and action packed. I had no clue who the killer was, but the reasons behind the killer made sense (in that killer kind of way of course) with the story and the characters.

If you enjoy Criminal Minds, or any other crime shows, and love YA this is the book for you!

Kimberly


Sep 13

Review * Uncommon Criminals by Ally Carter

Reviews 14 ★★★

Review * Uncommon Criminals by Ally CarterUncommon Criminals by Ally Carter
Series: Heist Society #2
Published by Disney Hyperion on June 21, 2011
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery, Young Adult
Pages: 298
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Also in this series: Heist Society
Add to: Goodreads
three-stars
Katarina Bishop has worn a lot of labels in her short life. Friend. Niece. Daughter. Thief. But for the last two months she’s simply been known as the girl who ran the crew that robbed the greatest museum in the world. That’s why Kat isn’t surprised when she’s asked to steal the infamous Cleopatra Emerald so it can be returned to its rightful owners.

There are only three problems. First, the gem hasn’t been seen in public in thirty years. Second, since the fall of the Egyptian empire and the suicide of Cleopatra, no one who holds the emerald keeps it for long, and in Kat’s world, history almost always repeats itself. But it’s the third problem that makes Kat’s crew the most nervous and that is simply… the emerald is cursed.

Kat might be in way over her head, but she’s not going down without a fight. After all she has her best friend—the gorgeous Hale—and the rest of her crew with her as they chase the Cleopatra around the globe, dodging curses, realizing that the same tricks and cons her family has used for centuries are useless this time.

Which means, this time, Katarina Bishop is making up her own rules.

What I Thought…

  • Uncommon Criminals is another fun read by Ally Carter.  I liked this one a smidge more than Heist Society.
  • In the beginning of the book Kat is a bit annoying. She wants to do everything herself.  She kept sneaking off to go and “take care of” things without asking for help or telling others what she was doing.  It was always “I” and never “we”.  Throughout the book though that began to change and she begins to realize that she can’t do everything by herself.
  • Hale and Kat are so darn cute! I love the tension between them, though it would be nice if they would just communicate! Hale is determined to help her no matter what and it takes Kat some time to see that.
  • The same characters from Heist Society return to help Kat.  Gabrielle is still my favorite of Kat’s group. I love how she’s not afraid to get in Kat’s face.
  • I loved the chase of the Cleopatra Emerald more than the painting in Heist Society. There were a couple twists and turns, most of which I saw coming, but that didn’t detract from the story at all. The cons were so fascinating, though I wish they would explain the ones they don’t use.
  • I am still wish Kat was a little older. When I’m reading I keep picturing Kat as 16 or 17 when she is only 15. Not that there is a huge difference between 15 and 16 but I just feel like she should be older.

Overall it was a cute and fun read. Perfect for a lazy afternoon.

Kimberly


Jul 12

Review * Body & Soul by Stacey Kade

Reviews 6 ★★★★

Review * Body & Soul by Stacey KadeBody & Soul by Stacey Kade
Series: The Ghost and the Goth
Published by Disney Hyperion on May 1, 2012
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 316
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Also in this series: Queen of the Dead
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Alona Dare has been living as Lily “Ally” Turner for over a month...and it's not been easy. Besides being trapped in a body so not as good as her original one, she's failing miserably at playing the sister and daughter of people she barely knows. Plus, she can't help but think that Will Killian - the boy she hates to care about - somehow wishes the real Lily were back.

 

She and Will have been trying to find a solution, looking for a two-for-one miracle that would free Alona and keep Lily alive. Visits to local psychics have proven useless, but then they stumble across Malachi the Magnificent, who seems to be different. His office is full of ghosts, for one thing. But Malachi doesn’t seem to hear or see them, which is odd. Plus, he bolts the moment he sees Will. To make things even weirder, Misty Evans, Alona's former best friend, is waiting in Malachi's lobby and claiming that she's being haunted. By Alona.

 

Will's convinced that Malachi has answers, while Alona is all kinds of pissed that someone's impersonating her. But their efforts to uncover the truth will bring them much unwanted attention and put them directly in the path of a ghost who will stop at nothing for another stab at life. Even if it means destroying Alona.

Body & Soul is the third book in a trilogy and it’s impossible to review it without including some spoilers from the second book, Queen of the Dead.

What I Thought…

  • I am so sad that this is the end.  I really, really enjoyed Alona and Will and I would love more of them (though I also appreciate that it’s not just being continued to be continued and then the books turn out to be not so great).
  • Alona is back in Lily’s body and trying to deal with the situation.  As you can imagine it’s a big struggle for her and for Will.  Alona is dealing with Lily’s family and the fact that she doesn’t want to her them, but she can’t really be Lily either.  She’s trying to find a balance of being herself but in Lily’s body and with Lily’s family (who of course are more caring than her own family was).
  • Will is struggling with Alona being Lily mostly because he can’t decide what he wants.  One minute he’s grateful that Alona is still around the next he’s mad because she is changing Lily.
  • Alona and Will make such a cute (albeit strange) couple.  Despite all their arguing you can see how much they really care about each other and how desperately they want their situation to work.
  • On top of Alona and Will’s personal struggles they are dealing with Malachi the Magnificent (who is lacking the magnificent part).  When Malachi sees Will he gets scared and flees which results in a new problem for Will and Alona which is all tied in with Alona’s former best friend Misty, who says she’s being haunted.
  • Body & Soul is a bit more creepy than the other two books.  Not in a bad way, but there were a couple of times I got the heebie geebies.
  • The ending was perfect.  I couldn’t have asked for more.
  • Body & Soul is the perfect example of why I have a hard time with alternate pov.  I get so frustrated because I know everything and I can’t do anything to fix it.  Alona and Will are pretty crappy communicators (as in, there is little to no communication) and since I am getting both sides of the story I just want to make it better.  From a reader perspective it’s almost better to not have alternating pov.

Overall I enjoyed Body & Soul more than the other two (those are really good too).  I highly recommend this series to anyone who likes ghosts, laughs and a little tenderness.

 

Kimberly


May 31

Review * Heist Society by Ally Carter

Reviews 7 ★★★

Review * Heist Society by Ally CarterHeist Society by Ally Carter
Series: Heist Society #1
Published by Disney Hyperion on February 9, 2010
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery, Young Adult
Pages: 287
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Also in this series: Uncommon Criminals
Add to: Goodreads
three-stars
When Katarina Bishop was three, her parents took her on a trip to the Louvre…to case it. For her seventh birthday, Katarina and her Uncle Eddie traveled to Austria…to steal the crown jewels. When Kat turned fifteen, she planned a con of her own—scamming her way into the best boarding school in the country, determined to leave the family business behind. Unfortunately, leaving “the life” for a normal life proves harder than she’d expected.

Soon, Kat's friend and former co-conspirator, Hale, appears out of nowhere to bring Kat back into the world she tried so hard to escape. But he has a good reason: a powerful mobster has been robbed of his priceless art collection and wants to retrieve it. Only a master thief could have pulled this job, and Kat's father isn't just on the suspect list, he is the list. Caught between Interpol and a far more deadly enemy, Kat’s dad needs her help.

For Kat, there is only one solution: track down the paintings and steal them back. So what if it's a spectacularly impossible job? She's got two weeks, a teenage crew, and hopefully just enough talent to pull off the biggest heist in her family's history--and, with any luck, steal her life back along the way.

What I Thought…

  • I love stories like this, bad guys who are really good guys.  It’s the YA version of Oceans 11 or Leverage.
  • Obviously the cons are completely outrageous but they are really fun.  They do so many cool things and what’s even better is that they don’t use a whole lot of special tools/gadgets to get it done.  I wished they would have explained the cons better after they were finished (the ins and outs of how it worked).  That’s my favorite part of Leverage.
  • I was a little bothered that Kat was only 15.  I know that the whole premise is not “real” but it seems a bit realistic that a 15 year old could get around like she does (there’s a lot of traveling to different countries).  Hale didn’t seem 16 either.  Honestly in my head I made them all in the 18-20 range because for me that made more sense.
  • There were some romantic instances between Kat and Hale but not a whole lot of romance.  They were super cute though.  This area of the book was the only one that I felt fit their age range.
  • Kat was a really good main character.  She wasn’t all “please save me” or “I can’t survive without my boyfriend.”  At times she was the exact opposite, going to far to be independent.  She maintained a good position as leader of her group of thieves.
  • I really enjoyed Kat’s friends.  They were a good group that fit well together and played off each other very well.  There was some good interaction and a couple of good one liners.  Similar to Oceans 11 and Leverage they each have their special unique talent.  Gabrielle was my favorite, she went a little above the  call of duty.
  • The bad guy, Arturo wasn’t as bad as he could have been.  He wasn’t really a major player in the story.
  • The best part was the final heist at the end.  It was set up perfectly, but then of course there are problems, some of which are funny, while others are more revealing.

Overall Heist Society was a quick, fun read.

Kimberly