Publisher: HarperTeen


Jan 30

Review * By Your Side by Kasie West

Reviews 2 ★★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * By Your Side by Kasie WestBy Your Side by Kasie West
Published by HarperTeen on January 31, 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

What I Thought…

• When was the last time Kasie West disappointed me? Never!

• How awesome would it be to be stuck in a library? I don’t care how unrealistic the logistics were, it would be fun!

• I was pleasantly surprised that By Your Side did not take place entirely in the library. This made the book so much better because we get to see what happens after the library.

• So many feels!

• Autumn has anxiety and I appreciated how well she was written and the message that came across with it. Autumn was still a strong character, but it also showed how she dealt with it (or in some cases didn’t deal with it).

• Dax was smooth and easy despite his upbringing. He had a lot going on even though he wasn’t given a lot to start with.

• There is a little more to the story than just the library, which I appreciate. I won’t go in to details, but I will say that I didn’t like all of Autumns friends. The situation regarding how she got left at the library made me angry, and I don’t feel that they were true friends. Autumn explained som

Overall another great contemporary from Kasie West. You won’t be disappointed!

Kimberly


May 04

Review * Wrong About the Guy by Claire LaZebnik

Reviews 2 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Borrowed in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Wrong About the Guy by Claire LaZebnikWrong About the Guy by Claire LaZebnik
Published by HarperTeen on April 21, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Format: ARC
Source: Borrowed
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Claire LaZebnik's latest twist on a beloved classic asks the age old question: Could the girl who knows everything be wrong about the guy?

As the stepdaughter of a TV star, Ellie Withers has it all: an amazing house in LA, a devoted friend who loved her before she even knew who Ellie’s stepfather was, and a burgeoning romance with handsome Aaron Marquand. But Ellie isn't the kind of person who’s content with simply having it all—the people in her life have to be equally happy. And, of course, she knows exactly what they need.

When Ellie’s plans for her family, her friends, and even her love life don’t turn out the way she imagined, she begins to wonder if maybe she could stand to learn a thing or two after all. Most surprising, though, is that the perfect person to teach her is the last person she'd expect.

Read more »

Kimberly


Apr 23

Review * Trouble From the Start by Rachel Hawthorne

Reviews 2 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Trouble From the Start by Rachel HawthorneTrouble from the Start by Rachel Hawthorne
Published by HarperTeen on April 28, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Lauren Barnholdt, and Susane Colasanti, Trouble from the Start is a sweet and romantic read about a good girl who falls for a bad boy.

Avery knows better than to fall for Fletcher, the local bad boy who can't seem to outrun his reputation. Fletcher knows he shouldn't bother with college-bound, daughter-of-a-cop Avery. But when their paths cross, neither can deny the spark. Are they willing to go against everything and let their hearts lead the way? Or are they just flirting with disaster?

A companion novel to Rachel Hawthorne's paperback original The Boyfriend Project, this title is perfect for fans of summer beach reads and sweet treats.

What I Thought…

• I really enjoyed Trouble From the Start. Avery is your typical good girl and Fletcher your more than meets the eye bad boy.

• Avery is ambitious and strives to do well in school and do the right thing. Even though this makes her sound like a goody two shoes, she’s not. She is overly afraid of disappointing her parents and not always very good at standing up for herself.

• Fletcher is seen as a bad boy by the school but isn’t as bad as he seems. He has a lot of home issues, which is how he comes to live in the apartment over the garage of Avery’s house. Despite all his issues he is very easy to like. I really like that he’s had some issues in school, he is already a year behind and still might not graduate this year. Hawthorne handles these issues fairly well and shows that there are people who are willing to help you graduate, even after you dug yourself a pretty big hole.

• I absolutely LOVED Avery’s parents. They around, they were involved (but not too involved) and they weren’t crazy. They were just your typical run of the mill parents, which is why I loved them so much.

• Avery and Fletcher were cute together, even when they were fighting it. I wish Fletcher had given up his “I’m not good enough for you” thoughts a bit sooner, but no big deal.

• The only thing that was off for me is at the very end Avery and Fletcher are of course together and all of a sudden there are I Love You’s everywhere. I teach at a high school and I know that they do tend to overuse/misuse I Love You, but it just didn’t fit for Avery or Fletcher.

• I’m very curious about Kendall and Jeremy. We don’t really get to know them too much in Trouble From the Start (other than the fact that they are all over each other) and I am waiting to see what happens with them in The Boyfriend Project.

Overall I really enjoyed Trouble From the Start. It’s a cute summery romance that won’t let you down.

Kimberly


Apr 20

Review * The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

Reviews 1 ★★★★★

Review * The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie WestThe Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West
Published by HarperTeen on May 5, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: ARC
Source: Borrowed
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, she'd been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy waiting to pick up his sister, she enlists his help. The task is simple: be her fill-in boyfriend— two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. After that, she can win back the real Bradley.

The problem is that days after prom, it's not the real Bradley she's thinking about, but the stand-in. The one whose name she doesn't even know. But tracking him down doesn't mean they're done faking a relationship. Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to see that he collects: his ex-girlfriend's graduation party — three hours, zero commitment, a few white lies.

Just when Gia begins to wonder if she could turn her fake boyfriend into a real one, Bradley comes waltzing back into her life, exposing her lie, and threatening to destroy her friendships and her new-found relationship.

What I Thought…

• The Fill-In Boyfriend is my new favorite Kasie West book. Might even be my favorite book of the year (it’s only April so it’s a little too early to say for sure).

• I love the pretend boyfriend/girlfriend plot line. It never gets old and it’s always fun.

• Gia does so much growing throughout the book, and that’s what makes this my favorite West book. At the beginning Gia is pretty superficial, she’s too embarrassed to tell her friends that her long distance boyfriend Bradley bailed on her (they don’t all believe she had a boyfriend) and that’s why she gets a stand in.

• I adored Gia’s Fill-In Hayden. He’s a nice guy (obviously, since he did the fake boyfriend thing) but also funny and not quite perfect. He has a complicated ex-girlfriend/ex-best friend thing going on.

• Hayden’s sister Bec was awesome (and I seriously hope that West decides that she needs a book). Her and Gia start to become friends and I enjoyed watching them do it as they are so different.

• Gia’s other friends suck. She feels that she can’t even tell them that Bradley dumped her before prom so obviously they aren’t true friends. This was one of my favorite aspects of the book, watching Gia and her friends as their friendship changes. The way West handled their friendship was absolutely perfect, which made the book even better.

Overall this is my FAVORITE Kasie West book to date and one I have definite plans on rereading!

Kimberly


Aug 28

Review * The Jewel by Amy Ewing

Reviews 1 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via BEA in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * The Jewel by Amy EwingThe Jewel by Amy Ewing
Series: The Lone City #1
Published by HarperTeen on September 2, 2014
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult
Pages: 358
Format: ARC
Source: BEA
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
The Jewel means wealth. The Jewel means beauty. The Jewel means royalty. But for girls like Violet, the Jewel means servitude. Not just any kind of servitude. Violet, born and raised in the Marsh, has been trained as a surrogate for the royalty—because in the Jewel the only thing more important than opulence is offspring.

Purchased at the surrogacy auction by the Duchess of the Lake and greeted with a slap to the face, Violet (now known only as #197) quickly learns of the brutal truths that lie beneath the Jewel’s glittering facade: the cruelty, backstabbing, and hidden violence that have become the royal way of life.

Violet must accept the ugly realities of her existence... and try to stay alive. But then a forbidden romance erupts between Violet and a handsome gentleman hired as a companion to the Duchess’s petulant niece. Though his presence makes life in the Jewel a bit brighter, the consequences of their illicit relationship will cost them both more than they bargained for.

What I Thought…

• The Jewel was one of the few “must haves” that I had on my list for BEA this year. Gorgeous cover. Cool premise. It sounds like something I would love.

• I absolutely LOVED the plot. It was different, creepy and disturbing all rolled up into one! Girls with certain talents are forced to be surrogates to the royal family, and when they are “accepted” they leave their families. Everything about this world completely sucks, but that’s what makes it awesome. The concept of the Royal families and the houses was well done and it was fascinating to watch things develop. The Jewel is filled with a lot of political games, some of which are very high stakes.

• I liked Violet ok. She was a bit of a brat at times, but some of that was understandable given her situation. At times she showed great moments of character, and at others she had me scratching my head, which I guess is normal teenage behavior, only she is not in a normal teenage situation.

• For as much as I loved the plot of The Jewel I disliked the romance. Insta-love doesn’t usually bother me, but it seemed extreme in this case. The romance didn’t start until 2/3 of the way into The Jewel and it took off like a rocket. I hate to say this, because you know I love my romance, but The Jewel would have been better without it. Or at least turning it into a slow burn instead.

• Despite the romance The Jewel is quite a page turner, especially once you get to the last 1/3 of the book.

• The ending killed me. Killed. Me. I know it’s a trilogy so there is going to be cliffhanger of some sort but this one was brutal! I also feel like The Jewel didn’t have it’s own story arc. The climax happened right at the end, with no conclusion about anything really. In trilogies/series I prefer for each book to have an arc that fits into the overall arc.

Overall I enjoyed the plot way more than the romance, but I have definite plans to read the next book. I have to know what happens next!

Kimberly


Jul 14

Review * Univited by Sophie Jordan

Reviews 1 ★★★★

Review * Univited by Sophie JordanUnivited by Sophie Jordan
Series: Univited #1
Published by HarperTeen on January 28, 2014
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

What I Thought…

• The concept behind Uninvited is amazing and frightening all at the same time. In theory it would be nice to be able to stop killers before they killed, but the reality is that you can’t really do that. Or if you could, it would spiral out of control like it did in Uninvited. There is no way that the ability to detect a “killing gene” would not cause widespread panic and mayhem.

• One of the things I liked about Uninvited is that Jordan goes into some of the crazy things that result in the identifying of HTS (the killing gene). There are threats and bad actions and crazy non HTS reactions. She went into detail with these things as far as they concerned Davy, but it would have been nice to see more of it.

• You first meet Davy before she knows that she is an HTS character, and I think that in order to understand her later in the book, you needed this glimpse of her pre-HTS. She has A LOT of HTS prejudices (and you can’t even blame her as she’s getting that from all around her) and even after she is identified she still has a lot of HTS carriers are bad prejudices, which mostly stays the same throughout the book. Even though she recognizes herself as not being bad she still feels that she should be afraid of HTS carriers because of the things they could do.

• Uninvited is fast paced and was hard to put down. Davy’s experience as an HTS carrier moves pretty fast due to some of her actions as well as outside (government) actions. Some things moved a bit too fast. View Spoiler » As an HTS carrier Davy’s life goes from heaven to hell. She gets such little support and society just keeps getting worse. She has essentially lost all rights as a human being, which sucks.

• Davy’s best friend Tori needs to be slapped. Hard. It’s been a long time since I’ve felt that way about a character but her actions were awful and inexcusable.

• There’s not a lot of romance in Uninvited, which is fine as it doesn’t really need it. Zac (her before boyfriend) breaks up with her after she is identified and then she meets Sean. There’s a bit of spark.. and then nothing… and then bam! While I liked Sean a lot as a character, I’m pretty indifferent to the romance between Sean and Davy. View Spoiler »

• Davy’s new friend Gil is pretty awesome. He is nerdy and a carrier.

• Davy’s brother is one of the best brothers ever. Davy’s parents, not so much.

Overall Uninvited is an intense read that will play on your emotions and I would recommend it to anyone who likes fast paced, make-you-think books!

Kimberly


Jun 19

Review * The One by Kiera Cass

Reviews 0 ★★★

Review * The One by Kiera CassThe One by Kiera Cass
Narrated by Amy Rubinate
Series: The Selection #3
Published by HarperTeen on May 6, 2014
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult
Time: 7 Hours 25 Minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Also in this series: The Selection
Add to: Goodreads
three-stars
The Selection changed America Singer's life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she entered the competition to become the next princess of Illéa, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen--and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she's made her choice . . . and she's prepared to fight for the future she wants.

Find out who America will choose in The One, the enchanting, beautifully romantic third book in the Selection series!

What I Thought…

  • It was good for what it was, but it wasn’t all that. For those of you not in the know, that’s a quote from Sister Act II, which pretty much sums up this series. If you read the first two and expect the same then you will enjoy The One just fine.
  • To sum some things up: America is still whining, Aspen is still seriously annoying, and Maxon needs to just get on with The Selection.
  • I won’t discuss who she chooses, but I do feel like the epilogue was lacking considering that this series is a romance with a side of dystopian.
  • I knew something was up even back in The Selection about why her name was America, but that didn’t make it any less cringe worthy when all the things started to come together.
  • I did like how The One ended, though I wish the ending and the big showdown had been a bit… bigger I guess, but I’m not surprised that it wasn’t.

Overall, if you’ve read The Selection and The Elite, The One is a must read!

Kimberly


Mar 28

Review * The Last Best Kiss by Claire LaZebnik

Reviews 2 ★★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Borrowed in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * The Last Best Kiss by Claire LaZebnikThe Last Best Kiss by Claire LaZebnik
Published by HarperTeen on April 22, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
Source: Borrowed
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
Anna Eliot is tired of worrying about what other people think. After all, that was how she lost the only guy she ever really liked, Finn Westbrook.

Now, three years after she broke his heart, the one who got away is back in her life.

All Anna wants is a chance to relive their last kiss again (and again and again). But Finn obviously hasn’t forgotten how she treated him, and he’s made it clear he has no interest in having anything to do with her.

Anna keeps trying to persuade herself that she doesn’t care about Finn either, but even though they’ve both changed since they first met, deep down she knows he’s the guy for her. Now if only she can get him to believe that, too....

The Story

Anna makes a big mistake freshman year with Finn who moved away and now it is senior year and he has come back. Anna is trying to right her wrong with Finn, but it’s harder than she thinks, especially since he’s not particularly interested in having that wrong righted. Even though the incident with Finn is the catalyst for the The Last Best Kiss is really about Anna and her family and her choices and growing up. Anna’s family isn’t really there for her, except for her sister Molly, who has her own issues. Her parent’s aren’t even too concerned with where she is physically let alone mentally.

The Characters

Anna was so easy to like. Her big mistake freshman year – publicly dissing Finn because she was worried what her friends would think – is something so common and it’s a big thing and a small thing at the same time. I remember what it was like in high school and teaching in a high school now I can assure you that some things don’t change and how students are perceived by others is a huge thing. Everything that she did to atone for her mistake with Finn felt so real (both the good and not so good things). I also loved how Anna expressed her feelings when she saw Finn with another girl.
Finn is the perfect kind of nerdy guy. He changed a lot since freshman year physically, but the nerdiness in him still comes out and its adorable. I also love that he doesn’t immediately just forgive and forget what happened freshman year, nor does he harbor feelings of hatred towards her either. He also has some really great sweet lines!

Anna’s family isn’t all that great, except for her sister Molly. Molly is going through her own issues, but still is there for Anna. Her sister Lizzie and her parents are of the non caring variety. Her dad is also super weird and there is this weird awkward dad dating situation that is hilarious (her parents are divorced).

Anna’s best friend Lucy is the kind of friend that you love throughout high school and then struggle with senior year because they are so focused on school and college and they don’t know how to relax. They are a great pair though and always there for each other.

Anna’s other friends are great too, though there were times where I just wanted Lilly to stop talking because she was driving me crazy. Hilary and Oscar were super awesome though.

The Ending

Everything is as it should be! I loved how everything played out between Anna and Finn and I really loved how things played out after the incident with one of Anna’s friends. Things could have gone to the extremes with that one, but instead LaZebnik kept it realistic and fitting.

The Verdict

Amazing! If you haven’t read a Claire LaZebnik book yet then I suggest you get on that!

Kimberly


Mar 06

Review * Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Reviews 2 ★★

Review * Stardust by Neil GaimanStardust by Neil Gaiman
Narrated by Neil Gaiman
Published by HarperTeen on February 1, 1999
Genres: Adult, Fantasy
Time: 6 Hours 27 Minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Add to: Goodreads
two-stars
Catch a fallen star...

Tristan Thorn promised to bring back a fallen star. So he sets out on a journey to fulfill the request of his beloved, the hauntingly beautiful Victoria Forester - and stumbles into the enchanted realm that lies beyond the wall of his English country town. Rich with adventure and magic, Stardust is one of master storyteller Neil Gaiman's most beloved tales, and the inspiration for the hit movie.

The Story

To start with a bit of a disclaimer: I am not a fan of fantasy books, but this was our February book club pick and that’s why I read it. Given how fantasy like it is it is not a book I would have picked up on my own (which is the point of all the book club picks).

In the book Tristan goes chasing after a fallen star which he finds out to be a girl. I thought this was a cool and different idea and made things a bit more fun than just searching for a fallen star would be.

However this is where things went downhill for me. I was pretty lost and confused throughout the whole book. There were so many things that just didn’t make sense and it didn’t seem to flow very well either. We jumped from one thing to another and only half the things were explained. It was like Gaiman took a whole bunch of things, threw them in a pot and stirred it up without any thought of whether or not they would go together.

Tristan’s journey was just ok for me, probably because I was lost half the time. There were some funny things that happened to him, but mostly I just thought it was weird.

The Characters

  • Tristan:  the main character, the man on a quest. I didn’t like him, but I didn’t dislike him either. He wasn’t the brightest character and could be quite rude at times. His obsession with finding the star was also a bit annoying.
  • The Fallen Star: Tristan is looking for the fallen star to bring back to the girl he loves to prove his love. The Fallen star plays a large part in the story but I can’t really say what happens because of spoilers.
  • All the secondary characters: There are so many! Tristan meets a lot of people on his way. It was kind of Wizard of Oz-ish this way, except a way different group of people that he meets. Most of these people were very strange, but it shouldn’t be that surprising given that he was in an enchanted world and not his own.

The Narration

Neil Gaiman narrates Stardust himself, which is pretty cool. I’m sure that not every author has the voice for it, but he definitely did. It was easy to tell the different characters apart and his voice is quite melodic.

The Movie

The movie was a million times better. Most of the girls in book club who saw the movie did not have the same issues with the book that I did. Once I watched the movie it all came together and even though fantasy is still not my cup of tea, I did really enjoy the movie. The movie also had a different ending, which I also liked a lot better.

The Best Quote

“She says nothing at all, but simply stares upward into the dark sky and watches, with sad eyes, the slow dance of the infinite stars.”

The Verdict

If you like fantasy I feel that you’ll definitely like Stardust. If you aren’t a fantasy fan than proceed with caution. And maybe watch the movie first so you know what’s going on!

 

Kimberly


Feb 10

Review * Split Second by Kasie West

Reviews 3 ★★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Borrowed in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Split Second by Kasie WestSplit Second by Kasie West
Series: Pivot Point #2
Published by HarperTeen on February 11, 2014
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Format: ARC
Source: Borrowed
Also in this series: Pivot Point
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
Addie has always been able to see the future when faced with a choice, but that doesn't make her present any easier. Her boyfriend used her. Her best friend betrayed her. So when Addie's dad invites her to spend her winter break with him in the Norm world, she jumps at the chance. There she meets the handsome and achingly familiar Trevor. He's a virtual stranger to her, so why does her heart do a funny flip every time she sees him? But after witnessing secrets that were supposed to stay hidden, Trevor quickly seems more suspicious of Addie than interested in her. She wants to change that.

Laila, her best friend, has a secret of her own: she can restore Addie's memories . . . once she learns how. But there are powerful people who don't want this to happen. Desperate, Laila tries to manipulate Connor, a brooding bad boy from school—but he seems to be the only boy in the Compound immune to her charms. And the only one who can help her.

In the suspenseful sequel to Pivot Point, Addie tries desperately to retrieve her lost memories and piece together a world she thought she knew before she loses the love she nearly forgot.

There are no spoilers for Split Second but there is no getting around spoilers from Pivot Point.

What I Thought…

  • To sum it up, Kasie West is amazing. Seriously, I love her characters, her plots, her writing, I love it all!
  • Split Second is the follow up to Pivot Point. When we left Addie in Pivot Point she just made the hardest choice of her life, choosing her best friend over a boy. If you’ve read Pivot Point you know that that was obviously the right choice and having her memory wiped of her memory of that choice was also the right thing for Addie to do, but I hurt for Addie because I wanted her to have that other choice!
  • In split second we get alternating POV’s between Laila and Addie rather than Addie’s two choices. I worried a bit about changing the POV’s between books, but I had no reason to worry! I loved also being inside Laila’s head. She is quite different from Addie and brought a lot of additional things to the story that couldn’t have been done solely with Addie’s POV.
  • I think my absolute favorite thing about Split Second was watching Addie fall for Trevor again. Even though we all know they belong together Addie’s choice forced them apart and then she had her memory erased so she wouldn’t have to remember her choices. Watching her interact and fall for Trevor again was so sweet!
  • There is also a second swoony boy in Split Second, but you don’t have to choose between them! Connor is all Laila’s and they make such a cute couple, even though they are quite resistant to it. Connor is a little bit dark and a lot brooding but cares so much about hurting people. It’s so sweet.
  • The not so fabulous Duke is around a bit too much in Split Second, doing things he shouldn’t be doing and misusing his ability again.
  • In Pivot Point we knew that there were a lot of abilities but we only learned a lot about a few of them . We learn a lot more about some other abilities in Split Second, some of which can be a little scary to think about! Addie’s new ability of slowing down time is pretty sweet!
  • It’s really hard to talk about the plot of Split Second without spoilers but here goes. Addie is suffering from the incident with Bobbie and what happened with Duke and is going to visit her dad off the compound. Laila is supposed to give Addie something on a certain date but isn’t sure she should. The Compound wants things and doesn’t want other things, and goes after things. The end. There were quite a few twists and turns, a few of which I was completely unprepared for (but oh were they genius!).

In short, if you haven’t read a book by Kasie West, I suggest you get on that!

Kimberly