Source: Edelweiss


Feb 13

Review * #famous by Jilly Gagnon

Reviews 1 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * #famous by Jilly Gagnon#famous by Jilly Gagnon
Published by Katherine Tegan Books on February 14, 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
In this modern-day love story, Girl likes Boy, Girl takes photo of Boy and posts it online, Boy becomes accidentally insta-famous. And what starts out as an innocent joke spirals into a whirlwind adventure that could change both their lives—and their hearts—forever. But are fame and love worth the price?

Told in alternating points of view, #famous captures the out-of-control thrill ride of falling for someone in front of everyone.

What I Thought…

• I read this in one sitting. It was so hard to put down!

• Rachel sneaks a picture of her crush and it ends of going viral. I feel like something similarish happened in real life, but maybe not? It goes viral in a positive way for Kyle, but not so much for Rachel.

• Obviously social media plays a large roll in the book and unfortunately people can be cruel online, especially to people they don’t know. It was really hard to read some the flits that Rachel got from these random people. It broke my heart that she had to read these things and then deal with it. For the most part I liked how it was handled in the book.

• Kyle was adorable but a little clueless, but since I think in general teenage boys can be clueless it didn’t seem out of the normal. For a good part of the book he didn’t see the other side of what happened for Rachel, which was frustrating at times. But he definitely made up for it in the end.

• The whole viral thing gets so big that Kyle goes on the Laura talk show and ends up getting Rachel involved. I hated how this played out for Rachel. View Spoiler »

• Rachel and Kyle were super cute together as they tried to navigate what is going on in their life and deal with their attraction to each other.

• Kyle’s best friend Ollie was absolutely awesome. Rachel’s best friend was less awesome. She did something in the book that made me super angry for Rachel, but also a lot of the time Rachel seemed like a better friend to her than she was to Rachel.

• Mean Girl Alert! There were two specific mean girls in the book and one of them was super vicious the other lashed out over what was happening and how it affected her. Either way they were mean and terrible to Rachel. The one situation was better handled (she did NOT come out the winner) but I did like how both were handled.

• My one complaint is I felt like #famous just kind of stopped. I was a little taken aback that there wasn’t another page. With that said though I liked how everything worked out so no other complaints.

Overall #famous was a fast paced, enjoyable read with a super adorable couple in it.

Kimberly


Jan 30

Review * By Your Side by Kasie West

Reviews 2 ★★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * By Your Side by Kasie WestBy Your Side by Kasie West
Published by HarperTeen on January 31, 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

What I Thought…

• When was the last time Kasie West disappointed me? Never!

• How awesome would it be to be stuck in a library? I don’t care how unrealistic the logistics were, it would be fun!

• I was pleasantly surprised that By Your Side did not take place entirely in the library. This made the book so much better because we get to see what happens after the library.

• So many feels!

• Autumn has anxiety and I appreciated how well she was written and the message that came across with it. Autumn was still a strong character, but it also showed how she dealt with it (or in some cases didn’t deal with it).

• Dax was smooth and easy despite his upbringing. He had a lot going on even though he wasn’t given a lot to start with.

• There is a little more to the story than just the library, which I appreciate. I won’t go in to details, but I will say that I didn’t like all of Autumns friends. The situation regarding how she got left at the library made me angry, and I don’t feel that they were true friends. Autumn explained som

Overall another great contemporary from Kasie West. You won’t be disappointed!

Kimberly


Jan 23

Review * Accidentally on Purpose by Jill Shalvis

Reviews 0 ★★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Accidentally on Purpose by Jill ShalvisAccidentally on Purpose by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #3
Published by Avon on January 24, 2017
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
There’s no such thing as a little in love…

Elle Wheaten’s priorities: friends, career, and kick-ass shoes. Then there’s the muscular wall of stubbornness that’s security expert Archer Hunt—who comes before everything else. No point in telling Mr. “Feels-Free Zone” that, though. Elle will just see other men until she gets over Archer . . . which should only take a lifetime . . .

There’s no such thing as a little in lust…

Archer’s wanted the best for Elle ever since he sacrificed his law-enforcement career to save her. But now that she’s earned happiness and success, Archer just wants Elle 24/7. Their chemistry could start the next San Francisco Earthquake, and Archer doesn’t want to be responsible for the damage. The alternative? Watch her go out with guys who aren’t him . . .

There is such a thing as…

As far as Archer’s concerned, nobody is good enough for Elle. But when he sets out to prove it by sabotaging her dates, she gets mad—and things get hot as hell. Now Archer has a new mission: prove to Elle that her perfect man has been here all along…

What I Thought…

• The tension between Elle and Archer ran high throughout the entire story. I loved how their backstory unfolded, it was just woven into the story, a little bit here, a little bit there until finally you knew what happened. To me that felt like such a natural way for the reader to find out the details, as they were remembering it, rather than just being told all the things.

• Sometimes Archer drove me crazy, but in the end he won me over. I get his need to want to protect Elle, but c’mon! That is generally not liked by anyone so he should not have been surprised to see that blow up in his face (more than once lol).

• Elle also had a fierce need to be independent. She’s worked hard to be that way, but sometimes you have to learn to accept help and Elle had a hard time with that.

• While Elle and Archer have a past, it’s a bit different from those typically featured in contemporary romances. It was nice to see what happened, how it shaped them, and how they came back together in the present.

• As always I enjoyed getting to know more of the characters, including Spence who I found adorable and hilarious and I can’t wait for him to get his own book. I really want him to get his own HEA. He needs it. I also enjoyed the reappearance of characters I’ve already met, and seeing what they’re up to.

• I wish that there was a bit more of Elle’s sister, but I also feel like she should get her own book (maybe with Spence???) so I’m ok with there not being more there if there is more of her in the future.

Overall another great addition to the Heartbreak Bay Series and one I would highly recommend!

Kimberly


Apr 11

Review * Listen to Me by Kristen Proby

Reviews 1 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Listen to Me by Kristen ProbyListen to Me by Kristen Proby
Series: Fusion #1
Published by William Morrow on April 12, 2015
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Seduction is quickly becoming the hottest new restaurant in Portland, and Addison Wade is proud to claim 1/5 of the credit. She’s determined to make it a success and can’t think of a better way to bring in new customers than live music. But when former rock star Jake Keller swaggers through the doors to apply for the weekend gig, she knows she’s in trouble. Addie instantly recognizes him—his posters were plastered all over her bedroom walls in high school—he’s all bad boy...exactly her type and exactly what she doesn’t need.

Jake Keller walked away from the limelight five years ago and yearns to return to what’s always driven him: the music. If he gets to work for a smart-mouthed, funny-as-hell bombshell, all the better. But talking Addie into giving him the job is far easier than persuading her that he wants more than a romp in her bed. Just when she begins to drop her walls, Jake’s past finally catches up with him.

Will Addie be torn apart once again or will Jake be able to convince her to drown out her doubts and listen to her heart?

What I Thought…

• Listen to Me was so hard to put down! I absolutely adored Addie and Jake, both together and on their own.

• There was just the right amount of drama in Listen to Me. Enough to keep things interesting (no one wants to read the mundane) but not so much that it’s completely unrealistic.

• Jake is a former rock star and I love how this angle played out. It was there and came up, but Jake was a little awkward about it which made it cute and he wasn’t all spoiled which I appreciated.

• Addie has a bad habit of picking men that are no good for her. She likes the bad boys, which hasn’t been working out for her. A lot of time when this happens they go after the opposite kind of man, but I like that she went after Jake anyway (even though she was telling herself it was a bad idea).

• Addie and four of her friends own Seduction, a restaurant. I love how this was woven into the story and I can’t wait to get the stories of her friends. There is definitely quite a few things going on there, and should lead to more good stories.

• Jake and Addie together were completely adorable. They had lots of fun joking between them, but they also had moments with lots of feels. It was so sweet that Jake knew what Addie needed and pushed her a bit, but also knew when to hold back.

• I really liked Jake’s best friend Christina. She is exactly the kind of friend he needs, someone who isn’t going to hold back on his account. Jake has some issues (he feels that something is his fault, and it weighs on him) to work out where she is concerned, but he would do anything for her.

• Listen to Me also has plenty of swoons and feels!

Overall Listen to Me is a great start to a new series and I can’t wait to read the next one!

Kimberly


Oct 26

Review * Missing Dixie by Caisey Quinn

Reviews 2 ★★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Missing Dixie by Caisey QuinnMissing Dixie by Caisey Quinn
Series: Neon Dreams #3
Published by William Morrow on October 27, 2015
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Also in this series: Loving Dallas
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
Fighting for redemption…

I've lived most of my life in darkness, beneath the shadows of secrets and addictions. The last thing I ever wanted to do was hurt the only girl I'd ever loved-the one who brought me into the light. In my entire life I'd made one promise-a promise I'd intended to keep. I've broken that promise and now I have to live with the fallout. Dixie Lark hates me, and I have to tell her that I love her. I also have to tell her a truth that might destroy us forever.

Can she love me even if she can't forgive me?

Learning to move on…

Gavin Garrison broke his promise to my brother and he broke my heart in the process. I may never love anyone the way I've loved him, but at least I won't spend my life wondering what if. We had our one night and he walked away. I'm finally beginning to move on when my brother's wedding and a battle of the bands brings us back together.

Our band is getting a second chance, but I don't know if I can give him one. How do you hand your heart back to the person who set it on fire once already?

If you haven’t read the first book in the series, Leaving Amarillo, there are spoilers for that book.

What I Thought…

• Oh. My. God. Missing Dixie was one hell of an emotional roller coaster.

• While Gavin and Dixie start their relationship in Leaving Amarillo, it ends with them being apart, and that completely broke my heart because you know they belong together.

• Missing Dixie is dual narrated by Gavin and Dixie, which gives you so much more insight into Gavin and his childhood and how he became the person that he is. This is the part that wrecked me the most. There are just no words to describe this.

• Dixie is stronger in Missing Dixie. She knows what she wants and she isn’t tolerating Gavin or Dallas’s crap.

• Seriously it is really hard for me to articulate how I feel about Missing Dixie. It’s more than just a romance, it’s about life and change and it produced a lot of feels.

• I really enjoyed the epilogue. Sometimes they can be overly cheesy, but this one was perfect.

Overall this is one of the best books I’ve read in 2015 and I highly recommend this series to all the people!

Kimberly


Aug 05

Review * Most Likely to Succeed by Jennifer Echols

Reviews 1 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Most Likely to Succeed by Jennifer EcholsMost Likely to Succeed by Jennifer Echols
Series: Superlatives #3
Published by Simon Pulse on August 4, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Also in this series: The Biggest Flirts, Perfect Couple
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
As vice president of Student Council, Kaye knows the importance of keeping order. Not only in school, but in her personal life. Which is why she and her boyfriend, Aidan, already have their lives mapped out: attend Columbia University together, pursue banking careers, and eventually get married. Everything Kaye has accomplished in high school—student government, cheerleading, stellar grades—has been in preparation for that future.

To his entire class, Sawyer is an irreverent bad boy. His antics on the field as school mascot and his love of partying have earned him total slacker status. But while he and Kaye appear to be opposites on every level, fate—and their friends—keep conspiring to throw them together. Perhaps the seniors see the simmering attraction Kaye and Sawyer are unwilling to acknowledge to themselves…

As the year unfolds, Kaye begins to realize her ideal life is not what she thought. And Sawyer decides it’s finally time to let down the facade and show everyone who he really is. Is a relationship between them most likely to succeed—or will it be their favorite mistake?

What I Thought…

• The Superlatives series by Jennifer Echols has been a lot of fun, but this one is by far the best in the series.

• Sawyer likes to party and is a bit of a slacker, but he’s not the bad boy everyone thinks he is. If you read the first two books then you know he has had a crush on Kaye for quite some time, and it’s absolutely adorable.

• Kaye has a boyfriend in the beginning of the book and he is a total ass and I wanted to throw a party when they broke up. The more you learn about Aidan the more you want to smack him upside the head, he does some pretty shitty things.

• Kaye has a lot of pressure on her from her family (mostly her mom) to be successful and to do all the right things, etc. She struggles with this a lot, especially when they come at her about Sawyer.

• Kaye and Sawyer had a rough path to coming together, but Echols did a good job of making their arguments/issues realistic and not over the top crazy.

• One of my favorite parts of these books is the friendship between Tia, Harper and Kaye. Even when things were a bit awkward (Tia and Sawyer were a thing in the past) the girls still kept their friendship strong.

• Most Likely to Succeed has kind of an abrupt ending. Everything just seemed to come together fairly fast. I also had a small issue with timing as all three books happen in such close succession, but as it’s been some time since reading the other two books that could just be my memory.

Overall I really enjoyed The Most Likely to Succeed and recommend it for anyone looking for a cute romance to read this summer!

Kimberly


Jun 08

Review * Loving Dallas by Caisey Quinn

Reviews 2 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Loving Dallas by Caisey QuinnLoving Dallas by Caisey Quinn
Series: Neon Dreams #2
Published by William Morrow on June 16, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Pages: 360
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Also in this series: Missing Dixie
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Dallas Lark is so close to achieving his dream of making it big in country music that he can taste it. Arriving in Nashville after signing with sexy, successful manager Mandy Lantram, his life goes from tragedy and turmoil to one lucky break after another—except it isn’t really luck because Dallas has sacrificed everything for his career, leaving behind his band, sister, best friend, and high school sweetheart, Robyn, in the pursuit of fame.

Robyn Breeland is a successful marketing coordinator and promotions specialist for a thriving liquor distributor out of Texas. She loves every aspect of her job: coming up with new ideas, traveling, hosting promotional parties and exclusive events—until it brings her face-to-face with the man who broke her heart, prompting her to erect a steel cage around it.

When their paths collide and they’re forced to work together, Dallas and Robyn realize that the old spark they thought they’d extinguished might still be a burning flame.

What I Thought…

• My friend Kate and I went to Avon Kiss Con last month, which featured six new adult authors. I’d read books from only two of them, Jennifer Armentrout and Cora Carmack. Originally I planned on only buying there books, but on a whim I picked up Leaving Amarillo by Caisey Quinn. I loved Leaving Amarillo (even though it left me hanging!) and couldn’t wait to get my hands on Loving Dallas.

• Loving Dallas picks up right around where Leaving Amarillo leaves off, only Dallas and Robyn are narrators rather than Dixie. If you were hoping to see what was up with Dixie and Gavin… you’re going to be disappointed. I was hoping there might be some kind of peeks into what’s going on with them, but no.

• Dallas is getting his dream shot, but he is without his band for reasons and it definitely impacts him. I thought this part of the book was so well thought out and described that I really felt what he was feeling. Robyn and Dallas have a past and had a lot to work through. Even though Dallas can be a bit of jerk at times, when it comes to Robyn you can see how much he loves her.

• Robyn is a bit of a mixed bag. In some ways she is very strong, but in some ways she is not. She is constantly putting Dallas’ needs first and not always giving him the opportunity to make his own choices. I know she has reasons, but still.

• One of my favorite characters was Jase Wade, the singer that Dallas is on tour with. I wasn’t sure I’d like him at first, but he isn’t really what he seems, which was a nice surprise.

Overall if you enjoyed Leaving Amarillo I definitely recommend Loving Dallas!

Kimberly


Apr 23

Review * Trouble From the Start by Rachel Hawthorne

Reviews 2 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Trouble From the Start by Rachel HawthorneTrouble from the Start by Rachel Hawthorne
Published by HarperTeen on April 28, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Lauren Barnholdt, and Susane Colasanti, Trouble from the Start is a sweet and romantic read about a good girl who falls for a bad boy.

Avery knows better than to fall for Fletcher, the local bad boy who can't seem to outrun his reputation. Fletcher knows he shouldn't bother with college-bound, daughter-of-a-cop Avery. But when their paths cross, neither can deny the spark. Are they willing to go against everything and let their hearts lead the way? Or are they just flirting with disaster?

A companion novel to Rachel Hawthorne's paperback original The Boyfriend Project, this title is perfect for fans of summer beach reads and sweet treats.

What I Thought…

• I really enjoyed Trouble From the Start. Avery is your typical good girl and Fletcher your more than meets the eye bad boy.

• Avery is ambitious and strives to do well in school and do the right thing. Even though this makes her sound like a goody two shoes, she’s not. She is overly afraid of disappointing her parents and not always very good at standing up for herself.

• Fletcher is seen as a bad boy by the school but isn’t as bad as he seems. He has a lot of home issues, which is how he comes to live in the apartment over the garage of Avery’s house. Despite all his issues he is very easy to like. I really like that he’s had some issues in school, he is already a year behind and still might not graduate this year. Hawthorne handles these issues fairly well and shows that there are people who are willing to help you graduate, even after you dug yourself a pretty big hole.

• I absolutely LOVED Avery’s parents. They around, they were involved (but not too involved) and they weren’t crazy. They were just your typical run of the mill parents, which is why I loved them so much.

• Avery and Fletcher were cute together, even when they were fighting it. I wish Fletcher had given up his “I’m not good enough for you” thoughts a bit sooner, but no big deal.

• The only thing that was off for me is at the very end Avery and Fletcher are of course together and all of a sudden there are I Love You’s everywhere. I teach at a high school and I know that they do tend to overuse/misuse I Love You, but it just didn’t fit for Avery or Fletcher.

• I’m very curious about Kendall and Jeremy. We don’t really get to know them too much in Trouble From the Start (other than the fact that they are all over each other) and I am waiting to see what happens with them in The Boyfriend Project.

Overall I really enjoyed Trouble From the Start. It’s a cute summery romance that won’t let you down.

Kimberly


Jan 22

Review * Rebound by Noelle August

Reviews 2 ★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Rebound by Noelle AugustRebound by Noelle August
Series: Boomerang #2
Published by William Morrow on February 10, 2015
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 288
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Also in this series: Bounce
Add to: Goodreads
three-stars
Hooking up is only the beginning of the fun in this sexy and irresistible second installment of the thrilling New Adult series, Boomerang.

Adam Blackwood has it all. At twenty-two, he’s fabulously wealthy, Ryan Gosling-hot and at the top of the heap in the business world. His life is perfect, until a scandal from his past resurfaces and knocks the tech wunderkind down, throwing his company, Boomerang, a hook-up site for millennials, into chaos.

Three years ago, Adam married his high school love—and then lost her in a tragic accident. Now, the heartbreak and guilt he’s tried to bury with work and women begins to take over his life.

Alison Quick, the twenty-one-year-old daughter of a business tycoon—and the very ex-girlfriend of Boomerang’s former intern, Ethan—has a problem of her own. She’s got one chance to prove to her father that she deserves a place in his empire by grabbing control of Boomerang and taking Adam down.

But as Alison moves in on him, armed with a cadre of lawyers and accountants, she discovers there’s much more to Adam and Boomerang than meets the eye. Will earning her father’s approval come at the price of losing her first real love? It appears so, unless Adam can forgive her for wrecking his life and trying to steal his livelihood. But Alison hopes that old adage is right. Maybe love can conquer all.

 

Read more »

Kimberly


Jan 12

Review * Perfect Couple by Jennifer Echols

Reviews 0 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Perfect Couple by Jennifer EcholsPerfect Couple by Jennifer Echols
Series: Superlatives #2
Published by Simon Pulse on January 13, 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Also in this series: The Biggest Flirts, Most Likely to Succeed
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Can your heart be put to a popular vote?

As yearbook photographer, Harper is responsible for capturing those candid moments that make high school memorable. But her own life is anything but picture perfect. Her parents' bitter divorce has left her wondering what a loving relationship would look like. And ever since the senior class voted her and star quarterback Brody the “Perfect Couple That Never Was,” her friends have been on her case to ask Brody out.

Brody doesn’t lack in female admirers, but Harper can't see herself with him. He seems confused about why they were matched together, too. They’re total opposites—the last people in the world who would ever be compatible, let alone the “perfect couple.” Yet ever since the class paired the two of them, they've found themselves drawn together--first by curiosity, then by an undeniable bond.

The trouble is, though they're very attracted to each other and both of them admit this, they have a hard time getting along or even communicating clearly. If they’re the perfect couple, this shouldn’t be so difficult! Soon it becomes clear their class was wrong, and they throw in the towel. But after they walk away, both of them feel so changed from making the effort that they can’t forget each other. What if that means this match made in hell is the perfect couple after all?

Read more »

Kimberly