Source: NetGalley


Feb 06

Review * My (Not So) Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

Reviews 1 ★★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * My (Not So) Perfect Life by Sophie KinsellaMy Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella
Published by Bantam on February 7, 2017
Genres: Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
Katie Brenner has the perfect life: a flat in London, a glamorous job, and a super-cool Instagram feed.

Ok, so the real truth is that she rents a tiny room with no space for a wardrobe, has a hideous commute to a lowly admin job, and the life she shares on Instagram isn’t really hers.

But one day her dreams are bound to come true, aren’t they?

Until her not-so perfect life comes crashing down when her mega-successful boss Demeter gives her the sack. All Katie’s hopes are shattered. She has to move home to Somerset, where she helps her dad with his new glamping business.

Then Demeter and her family book in for a holiday, and Katie sees her chance. But should she get revenge on the woman who ruined her dreams? Or try to get her job back? Does Demeter – the woman with everything – have such an idyllic life herself? Maybe they have more in common than it seems.

And what’s wrong with not-so-perfect, anyway?

What I Thought…

• Sophie Kinsella has long since been one of my favorite authors, and while her Shopaholic series dwindled for me some, I can’t help but pick up her books when I need something light and fun. My Not So Perfect Life fit that spot for me perfectly.

• MNSPL reminded me a lot of Can You Keep a Secret? in the best possible way. Things just happen to Katie and you can’t help but laugh and what she is going through. It was a bit ridiculous at times, but this is precisely the kind of book I needed in my life right now.

• It was so easy to identify with Katie. I completely understand the “fake” Instagram life she had and how you keep telling everyone how AMAZING and FANTASTIC your life is, even if it’s not. No one wants to show the bad parts. I’ve been there myself so I totally get it. And it’s so easy to make things look fabulous on the internet even when it’s not.

• What I liked best about MNSPL is that it really showcases that you should never judge anyone until you walk in their shoes. You don’t know where they’ve gone or what they’ve done. Some people just seem to have it all together and are seemingly perfect, but you don’t know what happens when you’re not around.

• Not a lot is happening at the beginning but around the middle of the book all these things start happening. Demeter (boss from hell) reappears in Katie’s life so does Alex (her crush) and there are other things that I don’t want to go in to because of spoilers, but I promise, you will enjoy the journey!

Overall if you’re looking for something light and fun this book is definitely for you!

Kimberly


Aug 15

Review * Game On by Michelle Smith

Reviews 3 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Game On by Michelle SmithGame On by Michelle Smith
Series: Lewis Creek #2
Published by Bloomsbury Spark on August 16, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 328
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
As king of baseball in the small town of Lewis Creek, Eric Perry can have any girl he wants and win every game he plays. But when a fight lands him in jail, he’s only got one more strike before his baseball career is over for good. His only chance for redemption? The girl next door, Bri Johnson.

Bri hasn’t talked to Eric in months—for starters, she’s been too busy dealing with her jerk of an ex-boyfriend, not to mention the fact that Eric’s been preoccupied trying to drink every keg in the country dry. But when he needs a way to stay on the team, she proposes a plan: if he helps her out with community service, he can stay on the team. At first it’s a nightmare—Eric and Bri stopped being friends years ago, surely that was for a good reason, right? But as volunteering turns to bonding over old memories of first kisses under the stars, they start to have trouble remembering what pushed them apart.

In a town as small as Lewis Creek, nothing stays secret for long and their friendship and romance might mean bad news. But in this final, tumultuous spring before graduation, Eric and Bri are about to realize that nobody’s perfect alone, but they might just be perfect together.

What I Thought…

• Game on was one of my most anticipated books for awhile. I loved Play On and was so excited to see that there was going to be another book set in Lewis Creek. I flew through Game On and have no regrets of staying up late to finish it.

• I’m a huge fan of boy/girl next door books and this one is even better because they were friends when they were kids and just kind of grew apart. I love that they were able to fall back in to that friendship.

• At the beginning Bri is dating this asshole Matt. He is controlling and Bri is finally starting to see that she needs to get out, but has a hard time with it. While it was painful to read at times, it was realistic… it’s easy to get stuck in these relationships and have a hard time getting out. View Spoiler »

• Eric is quite the trouble maker. It annoyed me how much got covered up in the beginning, but we all know that in some places student athletes get things covered up, and I’ve heard of a lot worse. I really like that Eric finally started to understand that it was a bit of self fulfilling prophecy and that he needed to change.

• Bri has a rough family situation and my heart just broke for her. Her mom left when she was a kid and her dad is a truck driver so she is alone a lot. It’s a good thing that Eric has an awesome family and they are right next door.

• I think one of the best things about Game On was that there were adults, and adults that were not idiots and just there because the author decided to throw an adult in. They played a good roll in the story and I loved Eric’s parents. Honestly, I loved his whole family, they are the kind of family that you can’t help but love in all their craziness.

• There needed to be more kissing. Definitely not enough kissing.

• I also wish that the plot line with Bri’s ex Matt would have not overshadowed Bri and Eric’s developing relationship. I felt that it dragged on a bit and there were enough other things going on for Bri and Eric to deal with.

Overall I loved returning back to Lewis Creek and Game On is a perfect summer read!

Kimberly


Jul 30

Review * To Have and to Hold by Lauren Layne

Reviews 0 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * To Have and to Hold by Lauren LayneTo Have and to Hold by Lauren Layne
Series: The Wedding Belles #1
Published by Pocket Books on July 26, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Discovering her fiance is an international con man just moments before they exchange vows devastates celebrity wedding planner Brooke Baldwin's business—and breaks her heart. Now a pariah in Los Angeles, she seeks a fresh start in New York City and thinks she’s found it with her first bridal client, a sweet—if slightly spoiled—hotel heiress. Then she meets the uptight businessman who’s holding the purse strings.

Seth Tyler wishes he could write a blank check and be done with his sister Maya's fancy-pants wedding. Unfortunately, micromanaging the event is his only chance at proving Maya’s fiance is a liar. Standing directly in his way is the stunning blonde wedding planner whose practiced smiles and sassy comebacks both irritate and arouse him. He needs Brooke’s help. But can he persuade a wedding planner on a comeback mission to unplan a wedding? And more importantly, how will he convince her that the wedding she should be planning... is theirs?

What I Thought…

Seth and Brooke’s story blew me away! I read it in one day, and would have read it in one sitting if it wasn’t for the fact that I had an appointment. I loved their instant attraction, and unwillingness to follow through on it…. at first. Their banter back and forth and unease with the situation could be felt through the pages. Their relationship wasn’t just built on lust and they had some fairly big arguments (and good ones too).

I also loved the how the whole situation with Seth’s sister Maya getting married. It’s tough to see someone you love have a whirlwind romance and marriage and while Seth did not handle things well, he handled it realistically. I enjoyed the roll that Seth’s best friend Grant played and his no b.s. way of dealing with Seth’s boneheaded moves.

Overall I loved the other two wedding planners, Heather and Alexis (especially Alexis – she’s just got to be with the Brit!) and I can’t wait to read their stories.

Kimberly


Jul 21

Review * Cream of the Crop by Alice Clayton

Reviews 2 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Cream of the Crop by Alice ClaytonCream of the Crop by Alice Clayton
Series: Hudson Valley #2
Published by Simon & Schuster on July 12, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Manhattan’s It Girl, Natalie Grayson, has it all: she’s a hot exec at a leading advertising firm, known industry-wide for her challenging and edgy campaigns. She’s got a large circle of friends, a family that loves her dearly, and her dance card is always full with handsome eligible bachelors. What else could a modern gal-about-town wish for? The answer, of course, is...cheese.

Natalie’s favorite part of each week is spending Saturday morning at the Union Square Farmer’s Market, where she indulges her love of all things triple cream. Her favorite booth also indulges her love of all things handsome. Oscar Mendoza, owner of the Bailey Falls Creamery and purveyor of the finest artisanal cheeses the Hudson Valley has to offer, is tall, dark, mysterious, and a bit oblivious. Or so she thinks. But that doesn’t stop Natalie from fantasizing about the size of his, ahem, milk can.

Romance is churning, passion is burning, and something incredible is rising to the top. Could it be...love?

What I Thought…

• I really enjoyed Natalie. It’s not often that you find a truly plus sized girl in a contemporary romance but she’s here and she’s likeable. My only issue with Natalie is that given her back story I didn’t see the connection between how she got from there to having confidence in herself and her body and I wish those connections would have been made.

• Oscar was equally as awesome. He is a farmer and a cheesemaker and while I NEVER want to see cheese being made, I do love me some cheese. He was a little awkward at times, but that just made him more adorable.

• Cream of the Crop is not Clayton’s most hilarious book (that honor still goes to Wallbanger), it is still funny and there are quite a few ridiculous moments to get your laughs in. Don’t worry, there are plenty of steaming moments too.

• I love a good small town and Baily Falls does not disappoint. I also loved that it provided the tension between Oscar in Bailey Falls and Natalie who resides in NYC. They are such contrasting places and I enjoyed their fish out of water experiences.

• Natalie and Oscar are cute together but other than their great physical relationship and love of cheese there didn’t seem to be much for them to go on, but by the end you see there love and you know all will be well.

Overall Cream of the Crop is another fun read from Alice Clayton!

Kimberly


Mar 24

Review * Walk the Edge by Katie McGarry

Reviews 1 ★★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Walk the Edge by Katie McGarryWalk the Edge by Katie McGarry
Series: Thunder Road #2
Published by Harlequin Teen on March 29, 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Also in this series: Nowhere But Here
Add to: Goodreads
five-stars
One moment of recklessness will change their worlds

Smart. Responsible. That's seventeen-year-old Breanna's role in her large family, and heaven forbid she put a toe out of line. Until one night of shockingly un-Breanna-like behavior puts her into a vicious cyber-bully's line of fire—and brings fellow senior Thomas "Razor" Turner into her life.

Razor lives for the Reign of Terror motorcycle club, and good girls like Breanna just don't belong. But when he learns she's being blackmailed over a compromising picture of the two of them—a picture that turns one unexpected and beautiful moment into ugliness—he knows it's time to step outside the rules.

And so they make a pact: he'll help her track down her blackmailer, and in return she'll help him seek answers to the mystery that's haunted him—one that not even his club brothers have been willing to discuss. But the more time they spend together, the more their feelings grow. And suddenly they're both walking the edge of discovering who they really are, what they want, and where they're going from here.

What I Thought…

• When I read Nowhere But Here (the first in this series) it was hard not to compare it to Pushing the Limits, while I still loved Nowhere But Here it was missing that something extra. Walk the Edge made up for that in spades. I started reading this before bed and ended up finishing it at 1:30 in the morning.

• McGarry does it again and hits me in all the feels. I felt emotionally connect to the characters from the beginning and it didn’t wane at all throughout the book.

• Razor and Breanna’s relationship is a slow burn. You can feel the attraction, but they don’t jump and act on it right away, they dance around each other a bit.

• Despite Razor’s rough edges it’s impossible not to like him. Everyone sees him exactly as he wants them to – bad and not to be messed with, but he goes out of his way to make them see him that way. He knows what he wants, to be a part of the MC, but in know way does that make him as bad as he thinks he is. He’s struggling to find his place in the MC and dealing with his mother’s death.

• Breanna has a totally different situation. She is the middle child in a large family and doesn’t seem to fit in with the older kids or younger kids. She often feels left out and is struggling to find her place in her family and the world. I found her parents to be quite frustrating at times they way they dumped on her, but I also get that with that many kids things like that happen. They weren’t awful parents or anything just… absent for Breanna.

• I loved the way that Breanna and Razor officially meet. Her ride is late so she is stuck at school and it’s getting late and dark. Breanna is obviously scared of Razor, but also sees a different side of him. This meeting is also hilariously awkward, which I always appreciate.

• There is quite a bit going on in Walk the Edge, but I the aspect I liked best was how they dealt with their growing attraction and how other people acted towards it. As Razor is the “bad boy” they all think he can’t possibly be good for her. There is also a lot of hatred towards their relationship. It was also a struggle for Breanna to accept some of the things that come along with Razor being part of the MC.

• Breanna really comes into her own and takes a stand in many ways as to what she wants and what she deserves. She also ultimately steps up in a situation that many people would have just accepted.

• I would love for Breanna’s friend Addison to get her own story. She has quite a few of her own problems and definitely needs a happily ever after in her life.

Overall if you love contemporary young adult books than Walk the Edge is definitely for you!

Kimberly


Mar 23

Review * Cuff Me by Lauren Layne

Blog Tour, Reviews 2 ★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Cuff Me by Lauren LayneCuff Me by Lauren Layne
Series: New York's Finest #3
Published by Forever on March 29, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add to: Goodreads
three-stars

Vincent knows he's not the most charming of the Moretti brothers. He prefers brooding to flirting, reading to talking, and he sure as hell isn't about to give into his mother's insistence that he 'settle down with a nice girl.' Luckily, Vincent's gig as one of the NYPD's top homicide detectives keeps him busy. As does his long-time partner, Jill Henley–a tough-as-nails cop with the face of an angel and smart mouth that makes Vincent crazy in all the worst ways.

After six years of working the homicide beat with the tight-lipped Vincent Moretti, Jill figure she knows him
better than anyone. Which is not at all. But when their most recent case points to a potential serial-killer situation, the higher-ups send them on a rare undercover mission to a place no NYPD officer dares go: the Upper Eastside.


Now the bureau's most antagonistic set of partners is posing as Mr. and Mrs. Brooks of Park Avenue. Spending 24/7 in the suspect's territory brings them closer and closer to their killer . . . and closer to each other. Soon Vincent and Jill are playing good cop/bad cop in and out of bed, and Jill's falling hard. But can she convince Vincent to give her a shot as partner in life, as well as at the bureau?

  •  I’m a huge fan of friends to lovers romances and I’m so happy that Cuff Me did not disappoint. Jill and Vin have been friends and partners for a while now, but after Jill comes home from spending 3 months with her mother in FL things take a dramatic change and Vin isn’t having it. I loved the struggle between the two of them to decide if they wanted more or not.
  • I was a little worried as Jill comes home engaged and I can’t stand cheating in books, but thankfully there is none of that. There is definitely attraction, but they don’t cross the line.
  • The case that Jill and Vin were on was the right amount of mystery/crime added to their story of coming together.
  • As always, I appreciate that the other Moretti’s made appearances, especially when it came to knocking some sense into Vin. I love the familial interactions.
  • I couldn’t have been more happy with Cuff Me and I’m hoping that there will be more Moretti books in the future – she can’t stop here!
BUY NOW
Lauren Layne is the USA Today Bestselling author of more than a dozen contemporary romance novels.
Prior to becoming an author, Lauren worked in e-commerce and web-marketing. A year after moving from Seattle to NYC to pursue a writing career, she had a fabulous agent and multiple New York publishing deals. 
Lauren currently lives in Manhattan with her husband and plus-sized Pomeranian. When not writing, you’ll likely find her running (rarely), reading (sometimes), or at happy hour (often).

Excerpt

Only a week after, he’d stuck out his hand and introduced himself as Tom, Tom Porter, in a sort of James Bondian way that made her giggle. They had been eating dinner at that very same hotel restaurant.

Only a week after that, dinner with Tom had become the norm rather than the exception.

The week after that?

They occasionally threw lunch into the mix, either her coming to meet him at some fancy place while her mom was in physical therapy, or him bringing fabulous picnicstyle lunches to her mother’s house, where he’d proceed to charm Jill’s mom almost as thoroughly as he charmed Jill.

Five weeks into Jill’s stay in Florida, Jill had stuck around for breakfast.

In his hotel room.

And then there’d been last night.

“Okay, okay, so he’s a dreamboat,” Elena said as the car crept slowly through rush hour traffic toward Manhattan. “How’d he pop the question? Champagne? Roses? Fancy restaurant with a water view?”

“Holy crap,” Jill said with a laugh. “Were you there?”

“I know all,” Elena said, extending her hands to the side as though she were some wise sage. “Did you see it coming at all?”

“Not even a little bit,” Jill admitted.

Not even with the expensive champagne, or the two dozen roses, or the fact that the restaurant staff seemed to be going out of their way to give Jill and Tom privacy at the terrace table overlooking the ocean.

She’d simply thought it had just been a really fantastic good-bye.

Instead it had been a bit more of a be mine forever and ever.

And Jill had said yes.

She’d said yes almost the second he’d gone down on his knee, not because she’d been that sure—she’d been pretty sure . .. sort of sure—she’d said yes because in that moment, Jill had wanted what Tom Porter was offering her.

A companion. A partner. Love.

And that’s what it came down to. Jill wanted to be loved. She wanted to love.

She loved her mother, obviously. And loved the memory of her father, God rest his soul.

And though she had no siblings of her own, the Morettis had filled that gap. And with the recent addition of Luc’s girlfriend, Ava, and Anthony’s new wife, Maggie, she had some amazing girlfriends to add to the mix.

And last, but never least, there was Vincent. Her partner. In some ways her best friend, although in a way that was different from her relationship with Elena.

But as much as Vincent sometimes seemed like two parts of the same whole, he’d always held a bit of himself back from her. From everyone.

He’d made no secret of the fact that he had no intentions of getting married, ever. Any fantasies Jill had had that her partner would one day wake up and see her were long gone.

Which left her a bit.. . lonely.

She wanted someone to come home to at the end of the long day who would just be there. Who’d pour her a glass of wine, maybe rub her feet and just listen.

Tom offered Jill what nobody else had offered her… ever.

Love. Commitment. A future.

And she knew that he loved her. Fast as their relationship had developed, she could feel it. And she loved him too. At least she was pretty sure.

“Aww, you like him,” Elena said teasingly, reaching out a finger and poking the dimple in Jill’s left cheek.

“I want to be happy, El. I want the happily-ever-after with someone who wants it with me.”

She met her friend’s eyes and saw from the flash of regret on Elena’s face that El understood what Jill wasn’t saying out loud.

I can’t wait for Vin forever.

Kimberly


Feb 08

Review * Call Me, Maybe Ellie Cahill

Reviews 3 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Call Me, Maybe Ellie CahillCall Me, Maybe by Ellie Cahill
Published by Loveswept on February 9, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 217
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Clementine Daly knows she’s the black sheep. Her wealthy, powerful family has watched her very closely since she almost got caught in an embarrassing scandal a few years ago. So when Clementine’s sent on a mission to live up to the Daly name, politely declining isn’t an option. Of course, the last thing she does before boarding the plane is to grab a stranger’s phone by mistake—leaving the hunky journalist with her phone. Soon his sexy voice is on the line, but he doesn’t know her real name, or her famous pedigree—which is just the way Clementine likes it.

Despite all the hassles, Justin Mueller is intrigued to realize that the beautiful brown-eyed girl he met at the airport is suddenly at his fingertips. They agree to exchange phones when they’re both back in town, but after a week of flirty texts and wonderfully intimate conversations, Justin doesn’t want to let her go. The only problem? It turns out that Clemetine has been lying to him about, well, everything. Except for the one thing two people can’t fake, the only thing that matters: The heat between them is for real.

What I Thought…

• I curled up with Call Me, Maybe on a blustery snow day and it kept me on my couch reading until I was finished. Call Me, Maybe is a fast read and it was pretty cute.

• Clementine and Justin go through a phone mix up at the airport and end up with each others phones until they return home. I thought this was a real cute way for them to meet, and led to some awkward moments.

• Clementine’s family is super wealthy and this causes her to not tell the truth about who she is, while part of me understands why, the other part of me doesn’t understand because unless you’re into the rich and famous/sociolite stuff, who pays attention to who has money where you live? But that could just be me. I completely understand not wanting to say that you have gobs of money though, it’s hard to tell who likes you for you rather than your money.

• Clementine’s family is overbearing towards Clementine and it drove me crazy. Yes, she made a mistake, but it’s over and done with so, move on!

• There aren’t too many secondary characters in this one, but I did like Clementine’s neighbor/friend and Justin’s roommate.

• While reading Call Me, Maybe was more of a three star read, but the ending was so excellent I had to bump it up.

Overall if you are into cute contemporary romances definitely give this one a shot!

Kimberly


Feb 01

Review * I Wish You Were Mine by Lauren Layne

Reviews 2 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * I Wish You Were Mine by Lauren LayneWish You Were Mine by Lauren Layne
Series: Oxford #2
Published by Loveswept on February 2, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 260
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
A year ago, Jackson Burke was married to the love of his life and playing quarterback for the Texas Redhawks. Now he’s retired, courtesy of the car accident that ruined his career—and single, after a nasty scandal torpedoed his marriage. Just as he’s starting to get used to his new life as a health and fitness columnist for Oxford magazine, his unpredictable ex shows up on his doorstep in Manhattan. Jackson should be thrilled. But he can’t stop thinking about the one person who’s always been there for him, the one girl he could never have: her younger sister.

Mollie Carrington can’t say no to Madison. After all, her older sister practically raised her. So when Madison begs for help in winning her ex-husband back, Mollie’s just glad she got over her own crush on Jackson ages ago—or so she thought. Because as Mollie reconnects with Jackson, she quickly forgets all her reasons to stay loyal to her sister. Tempted by Jackson’s mellow drawl and cowboy good looks, Mollie is sick and tired of coming in second place. But she can’t win if she doesn’t play the game.

What I Thought…

• This is the first book in either Layne’s Stiletto or Oxford series that gave me some SERIOUS feels. I also stayed up until way past my bedtime to finish it. My “one more chapter” turned into “finished the whole thing.”

• Wish You Were Mine is a bit of a different romance, Jackson is Mollie’s sisters ex husband. I’m trying to think if I’ve read a book like this before but I honestly can’t remember, which made it refreshing for me.

• Obviously given the past things are not smooth for Jackson and Mollie. Being in love with your siblings ex-husband does not make for good family moments. Also Mollie’s sister is a bitch.

• Jackson is struggling because in a moment his entire life changed and he can no longer play football and has to do something else. I really liked how Layne showed his emotions and being torn between the “new me” Jackson was forced into and the guy he’s always been.

• The gang from the previous books were quite present in Wish You Were Mine, which I always enjoy. It’s nice to get the little updates on where things are when you know you don’t need a whole new book. I also loved how they wormed their way into Jackson’s life, refusing to let him be the stick in the mud he was being.

• Mollie and her sister and it was difficult at times to watch Mollie struggle through that, but I totally get it. She’s family and we always see our family different from others.

Overall this was the best in the series for me and I definitely recommend it to contemporary romance fans!

Kimberly


Jan 25

Review * Keep On Loving You by Christie Ridgway

Reviews 2 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Keep On Loving You by Christie RidgwayKeep On Loving You by Christie Ridgway
Series: Cabin Fever #4
Published by HQN on January 26, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Also in this series: Take My Breath Away, Make Me Lose Control, Can't Fight This Feeling
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Mackenzie Walker's siblings have all found their happy-ever-afters, but she has everything a single girl needs in her California mountain hometown. Family, friends, a thriving business…and memories of Zan Elliott, her first love, whose touch—and betrayal—she's never forgotten. Now, ten years after he left town, Zan returns to manage his late grandfather's estate…and flip Mac's life upside down with one heated glance.

Documentary filmmaking has taken Zan all over the globe, yet nowhere was far enough away to make him forget Mac. Seeing her ignites their incredible chemistry all over again. Mac's trust won't be easily won, however, especially when Zan's inheritance jeopardizes her family's hard-earned dreams. But every moment together is challenging Zan to stop living life through a lens and dare to let his guard down for a chance at forever…

What I Thought…

• I love a good second chance love story. I enjoy watching the characters muddle through their history to figure out their future. Mackenzie and Zan have spent the last 10 years apart, and not even talking, which makes for an interesting backstory.

• Zan has a lot going on in his head that causes him to make the decisions that he does. I get where he is coming from, but I appreciate that the Walker family just isn’t having it. His persistence regarding Mackenzie is also adorable.

• Mackenzie is a strong woman – at least to the outer world. She has some issues obviously but she looks out for her family and owns her own business. She also doesn’t want to rely on Zan, though she comes to learn that relying on someone sometimes isn’t a bad thing.

• Keep On Loving You had a cute secondary romance. Normally these don’t work for me as I feel they take away from the main romance but Tilda and Ash were just so cute together that I couldn’t help but want to know more.

• Keep On Loving You had humor and plenty of feels in it. It’s hard not to feel for the hardships of Zan and Mackenzie’s past!

Overall I especially enjoyed Keep On Loving You and would recommend it to any romance fan!

Kimberly


Dec 28

Review * Anything For You by Kristan Higgins

Reviews 1 ★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review * Anything For You by Kristan HigginsAnything For You by Kristan Higgins
Series: Blue Heron #5
Published by HQN on December 29, 2015
Genres: Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Also in this series: The Best Man, The Perfect Match, Waiting On You, In Your Dreams
Add to: Goodreads
four-stars
Before you get down on bended knee…

…you should be pretty darn sure the answer will be yes. For ten years, Connor O'Rourke has been waiting for Jessica Dunn to take their on-again, off-again relationship public, and he thinks the time has come. His restaurant is thriving, she's got her dream job at Blue Heron Vineyard—it's the perfect time to get married.

When he pops the question, however, her answer is a fond but firm no. If it ain't broke, why fix it? Jess has her hands full with her younger brother, who's now living with her full-time, and a great career after years of waitressing. What she and Connor have is perfect: friends with an excellent benefits package. Besides, with her difficult past (and reputation), she's positive married life isn't for her.

But this time, Connor says it's all or nothing. If she doesn't want to marry him, he'll find someone who does. Easier said than done, given that he's never loved anyone but her. And maybe Jessica isn't quite as sure as she thinks…

What I Thought…

• I’ve been waiting for Connor’s story for a long time, and I couldn’t be more happy how it worked out. He’s been in love with Jessica for a long time and seeing Jessica finally come around was amazing.

• Anything For You tackled some tough things. I don’t want to get spoilery so I’ll leave some of them out, but the biggest one is that Jessica’s youngest brother is mentally disabled and Jessica feels that she can’t have a life because she needs to take care of him. It’s a tough spot to be in, but her love for her brother shines bright and clear.

• It took me a bit to come around to liking Jessica, I didn’t like the way she treated Connor, and that frustrated me at times, but eventually she won me over. Connor is just the right person to help her find balance in her life.

• Jessica’s brother Davey added so much to the story, I loved all the scenes with him in it, even if he wasn’t behaving good.

• Of course I loved that other characters from previous books made an appearance, and how their stories intertwined with Connor and Jessica’s, through professional and family/friendship ways.

• My only complaint about the book was how the first quarter or so of the book was the past and was broken into chunks of what happened at this time etc. I know that we needed to know the past but I guess I would have preferred it worked in in a different manner.

Overall an excellent addition to the Blue Heron series and a must read for contemporary romance fans!

Kimberly